LibGuides: SPCE 691: Supervising Human Service Staff in ABA: More about article databases

Research tips, tricks, and suggestions
Literature Review & SJDEI
Personalized system of instruction
Coaching and/or performance feedback
PowerPoint as a training tool
Social validity of training methods
Modeling
Role-play
Resources
APA citation style
Interlibrary Loan: Getting articles/books we don't have

Other Useful Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text and peer reviewed articles.
Time Period: 1909 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 20,000 Academic and peer reviewed journals and magazines and provides full text for more than 5,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Description: Professional Development Collection provides indexing and access to education journals geared towards education professionals.
Time Period: 1965 to present
Sources: Indexes roughly 700 journals.
Subject Headings: Education
Primary Materials: Journal Articles

Access World News

For searching newspapers articles included in the database Access World News. Browse suggested topics, and click to perform a search.

Interlibrary Loan: Get Books & Articles We Don't Have

Interlibrary Loan
Request a book, article, or other materials not available in the Ball State University Libraries.

Short videos on research

If you learn best by watching, you may want to take a look at this collection of Library Research Mini-Videos. It includes short 3 - 6 minute videos covering basic to advanced searching in ERIC, PsycINFO, and OneSearch. Explore!

Search strategy

Having a search strategy as you get started using library databases gives you a boost to search efficiently and thoughtfully. CHOP, DROP, and OR is just such a strategy.