What you need to do...
The "research part of this assignment:
"You will need to find an article published in a newspaper. The article must have been published within the last two years."
"...Did the article accurately represent published research (e.g., symptoms of ASD, prevalence of ASD, behavior displayed by individuals with ASD, etc.) or did the article make general or inaccurate statements. Be sure to support your statements with citations."
Choose your database
While Google can help you search for newspaper articles, you'll be able to search across a number of reliable newspaper sources if you use the news databases on the Ball State Libraries' web site. (And remember, the Libraries' homepage really should be your default starting point when doing research for your classes!)
Here are a couple to choose from:
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Index to recent newspapers and TV or radio news reports. Includes the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, New York Times, and many regional or local newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Choosing search terms to find the newspaper article
You could keep your newspaper article search very broad, by just searching on
autism
AND research
Or you could get more specific by adding another terms like symptoms, prevalence, or behaviors (or some other term) in a third search box.
Then make sure you set the "Publication Date" limit to the last two years.
Note that in Newspaper Source PLUS (shown here), you can also limit to US Newspapers under "Source Types."
Choosing databases to find support for your statements
As with other assignments, you'll find tht PsycINFO is a top-notch database for you to use to find research on autism spectrum disorders. You may find it helpful to search these others, as well, all of which are available from the Ball State Libraries' Databases page:
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.