Questions? Just ask!
Office: Bracken Library BL 102
Email: setaylor@bsu.edu
LibKey Nomad: For Full-Text
Install LibKey Nomad on your laptop to make it easier to find out if we have access to a full article while you're browsing the web.
This guide has more information, and steps to install it: LibKey Nomad guide.
Interlibrary Loan: Get Books & Articles We Don't Have
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or other materials not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
OneSearch: Great for getting whole article
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. Includes books owned by the libraries. Especially helpful for finding full-text of a known article.
Looking for dissertations?
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: Since you may need a BSU username and password to access some content, you should log in before searching.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowA key source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields. Some 80,000 new dissertations and from 700 leading academic institutions are added to the database each year, many with a free 24 page preview. Ball State University dissertations and theses are included. Dissertations and theses can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Main databases for finding articles in speech pathology and audiology
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowKey source for research related to the nursing and the allied health professions. Name stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
Can choose "Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology" under Special Interest drop-down menu. - Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition includes journals from many medical disciplines and focuses on nursing and allied health. Journal subjects include audiology, child and adolescent psychology, environmental health, nursing, nutrition, and public health. Of the 500 full text journals contained in this database, 436 are peer reviewed.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE, created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is the premier index of medical journal articles. Provides help for locating the text of articles when it isn't available in MEDLINE.
You can use limiters under “Advanced Search” to place any of these limits:
- “EBM Reviews” (evidence-based medicine) OR
- Under “Publication Type” choose “Clinical Trials” or “Randomized Controlled Trials," OR
- Choose "Review" to limit to any type of review article - Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals. It covers topics related to nursing, mental health, public health, and patient care.
More databases for finding articles in speech pathology and audiology
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles in the fields of communication studies, telecommunications, emerging media, and journalism.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) covers all aspects of the study of language. All of the various fields of linguistics are included such as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Contains some full text.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowLarge scholarly database, searching topics across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Good for finding out who has cited a certain article. (Look for "Cited Reference Search.") Also allows sorting by "Times Cited" to find frequently cited works.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned by over 16,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan.
Other useful resources
- ASHA WireAllows searching through all the publications of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.
Some titles provided for free. Otherwise, check OneSearch to see if we have the full-text of the article. - ASHA: Practice PortalFrom ASHA web site. "One-stop access to resources to guide evidence-based decision-making on clinical and professional issues."
- ASHA: Evidence MapsFrom website: "Searchable online tool for finding the latest summarized evidence on screening, assessment, treatment, and service delivery for SLPs and audiologists."
- Cochrane Library"A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making." (Note: We do NOT have full access.)
• Cochrane Reviews: A collection of systematic reviews of research in healthcare and health policy
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: Leading resources for systematic reviews in health care – it includes the Cochrane Reviews and more.
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want
When you'
re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.
Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.
- If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
- If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.
To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.
If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:
- PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
- Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article
If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.
- Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
- Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
- More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.
