Speech Pathology & Audiology

From the Ball State University Libraries homepage, the default option for OneSearch is the basic search - this provides you with one search bar and no visible filters.

If it is helpful for you to have multiple search bars or to have access to the filters before submitting your search, you can use the advanced search. The advanced search will automatically provide you with two search bars, and give you the ability to add more as necessary. The advanced search interface also gives you access to the filters before you submit your search.

Note: whether you use the basic or advanced search interface, you will always be able to access the filters from the search results page.

1. Field Selector: Choices include - author, title, publication title, subject terms, etc. These limit your results to only those where your free text appears in the field you've selected
2. Search bar: This is where you can enter your free text
3. Boolean Operator Selector: Use this selector to link the concepts in each search bar together using AND, OR, NOT
4. Add Search Bars: Use this button to add additional search bars and concepts to your query
5. Publication Date filter: Use the convenient preset options or set your own custom range
6. Refine your search: These include some of the most commonly used filters in OneSearch:
   • Add results beyond your library's collection: Displays items relevant to your search that are not available through Ball State - this can be handy for finding items to request through Interlibrary Loan
   • Full Text Online: Limits to items (of any content type) that are fully accessible online
   • Scholarly & Peer Reviewed: Limits to high-quality peer-reviewed academic sources. With some exceptions, this filter generally excludes scholarly books because they often do not undergo the same peer-review process that journal articles do - that's not to say that books can't contain high quality scholarly content though!
   • Peer Reviewed: Limits to high-quality peer-reviewed academic sources. With some exceptions, this filter generally excludes scholarly books because they often do not undergo the same peer-review process that journal articles do - that's not to say that books can't contain high quality scholarly content though!
   • eBook Full Text Online: Limits to ebooks that are fully available online
   • Include Matches in Full Text: This filter is on by default - applies search terms in all fields to the full text of item - meaning that your search terms may not appear in the bibliographic information for a record (title, author, abstract, subject terms, etc.) but they may appear in the full text
   • Library Catalog: Limits to only items owned by Ball State 
   • Physical Books in Library Catalog: Limits to physical copies of books housed in one of the Ball State Libraries
   • Open Access: Limits to items that are freely available in full-text to the general public
7. Content Type filter: Limit by the type of item - book / ebook and journal article are two popular choices
8. Discipline filter: Limit to content pertaining to a particular discipline like nursing, public health, etc.
9. Language filter: Limit to content in a particular language
10. Library Location filter: Limit to items housed in a particular library or collection

Strategies for Using OneSearch

Although there is no "right way" to do research, and your search strategy will depend largely on your topic, because OneSearch is the Ball State University Libraries' discovery tool, rather than a specialized database, it can be helpful to use more precise search strategies and components because you'll be searching through a very wide pool of results. 

Keywords

OneSearch does not have a controlled vocabulary and does not have automatic term mapping. This means that to find an article indexed with MeSH terms, you would need to search by the MeSH term rather than using one of the plain-language entry terms that maps to the appropriate MeSH term in PubMed. If you'd like to include MeSH or other specialized terms, it's a good idea to link them to a plain-language term using OR

Ex: ("diet, mediterranean" OR "mediterranean diet")

• "diet, mediterranean" is the preferred terminology in MeSH whereas "mediterranean diet" is the preferred terminology in the CINAHL headings
• Including both phrasings create a more comprehensive search strategy

Boolean Operators

If you are typing Boolean Operators in OneSearch rather than using the drop-down menu in the Advanced Screen, make sure that you utilize capital letters.

Quotation Marks

This will depend on your individual search, as well as your intended results, however, because OneSearch is not a specialized database, it can be especially helpful to utilize quotation marks with your concepts that are made up by two or more words to assist in retrieving results related to your concept rather than results that just happen to mention each word.

Parentheses

OneSearch tends to be a bit more picky than some of the other database platforms. If you are using multiple concepts connected by the Boolean Operator OR, you need to separate them from the rest of your search using parentheses.

Ex: "substance-related disorders" AND (attitudes OR perceptions OR beliefs)

LG - Using OneSearch for Biomedical Research by Charlie Fitzpatrick

Finding Books in OneSearch

If you are specifically looking for books, you can use the filter "Physical Books in Library Catalog" to show you only physical books that belong to Ball State in one of the libraries.

For physical books that Ball State University Libraries own, you should see information in the item record that will help you locate the book on the shelf.

1. Availability Status: Indicates whether the book is available or not. If unavailable, it may be checked out, and may be able to be recalled
2. Library Location: Indicates which library location the book is located in - for example, Bracken Library, Health Library, Foundational Sciences Library, Architecture Library
3. Call Number: The call number can be thought of as the street address of the book, it will tell you exactly where to find the book on its shelf
4. Collection: Indicates which collection an item belongs to - this is important because some items belong to collections that cannot be checked out
5. Text this call number: This is a handy utility that will text you the call number for a book so you don't need to write it down

How to Use a Call Number to Locate a Book

Let's say that we want to check out the book from above, Biomechanics of Injury. The item record in OneSearch gave us a lot of information that will help us locate the book, but we need more information to help us decode the location.

In the search results page, on the right hand side of the screen, you should see a link that says "Book Locations and Floorplans."

On the Book Locations and Floorplans page, we'll take a look in the first table to see where the collection is housed. The OneSearch item record indicated the Biomechanics of Injury belongs to the General Collection in Bracken Library. Because the book is part of the General Collection, we need to look at the second table to determine on which floor of Bracken Library the book is shelved. The book's call number begins with the letters RD, which falls within the span QP-Z, so the book will be located on the west side of the fourth floor. 

Hint: The side of Bracken Library with the Library Information Desk is the east side, and the side with the Technology Store is the west side.

When you arrive to the fourth floor west side, look for the hanging signage that indicates QP-Z.

Each bookshelf has two ranges. Locate the range in which the call number you're looking for will fall. Our call number begins with RD, so it will fall between RC and RJ.

Note: Shifting of the collection may take place, so signage may not be current when you visit. If the books are out of place, locate call numbers that begin with the same letters as your call number until you get closer.

Once you're in the correct range, you'll notice that many, but not all, books have their call number listed on their spine for easy viewing. Browse the books until you find books whose call numbers begin with RD. Once you've located the RDs, look to the number following RD, and move forward or backward until you locate 680. If there are multiple RD680s, proceed to the next line and keep going.

How to Request a Book Through Interlibrary Loan

If you would like to find books that Ball State does not own, you can use the filter "Add results beyond your library's collection." If you find something that may be useful to you, you can submit a request for it through Interlibrary Loan. Open the item record and look for the link that says "Request the item with Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad."

How to Find Videos in Physical Formats

The majority of videos on DVD or VHS belong to the Education, Music, and Media Collection in Bracken, but a small collection exists at the Health Library. If you are looking for health-related videos in physical formats use the "Content Type" filter set to "Video Recording" and the "Library Location" filter set to "Education, Music, and Media Video" and "Health Library Counter."

1. View Now - PDF: Opens the article in a PDF file
2. Journal Article - Full Text Online: Opens the article in a browser. More options refers to additional sites.
3. View in Context: Displays the journal article in the context of the issue in which it was published

A very good practice while doing research is called citation chaining. This essentially just means that you look through both the references that an author uses to write their research, as well as research that has since cited the original work you located. Thankfully, OneSearch has multiple built-in tools to assist with this.

Citation Chaining Tools in OneSearch Item Records

1. Cited by: Opens a OneSearch page displaying records that have cited "Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty for Massive, Irreparable Rotator Cuff Tears Before the Age of 60 Years Long-Term Results"
2. Cites: Opens a OneSearch page displaying records that were included as references in "Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty for Massive, Irreparable Rotator Cuff Tears Before the Age of 60 Years Long-Term Results"
3. Web of Science: Opens citing results in the Web of Science database.
4. Altmetric: Shortened form of "Alternative Metrics" because in addition to traditional scholarly citations it also tracks mentions in news publications as well as social media mentions. 

Cited By

Cites

Web of Science 

Altmetrics

1. Add to Temp Folder: Save items to a temporary folder while you're browsing. This feature is not generally recommended because it doesn't save items long-term.
2. Permanent Link: This link will direct back to the OneSearch record. Recording permalinks is a stable way to save items you want to access again. If the item is available electronically, downloading a PDF is perfectly fine and recommended in the case of personal use, but if you are sharing an item with another person, use the permanent link - do not share PDFs.
3. Cite this item: This built-in citation tool is generally pretty reliable, but always verify citations are correct before including them in assignments.
4. Email this item: This is another simple way to share OneSearch item records with yourself or with others.
5. More actions -> Export to: This option allows you to easily export citation information to a citation management program like EndNote or Zotero.