Saxophone

A call number is an item's address in a library. Just like you have a unique mailing address, each library item has its own unique call number. Also like the components of a mailing address (i.e., street name, zip code, etc.), each part of a call number means something. The first letter or two letters is called a subclass. In music, there are only three subclasses. M is the subclass for music scores. Music books are in either ML or MT. Within M, there are three main divisions: M1 to M3.3 are collections; M5 to M1480 contains instrumental music; and M1495 to M2199 contains vocal music.

Typically two alphanumeric signifiers called cutters follow the subclass. With scores, these cutters often correspond to the composer or editor's last name. The numbers which follow the letter then offer clues as to the next letters of their name. Scores by Bach, for example, might be cuttered as B3. This provides an alphabetical ordering within each genre or type of work. The final number in a call number, for example 1991, is typically the date of publication. You can practice your knowledge of call numbers with this tutorial.

Most scores held by the Libraries are in print. There are, however, plenty of ways for you to access digital scores. IMSLP / Petrucci Sheet Music Library remains a popular website among musicians and music students for viewing and downloading PDFs of scores and parts. Scores posted to IMSLP are no longer in copyright, so they are free for you to use and share. These scores can be great for research as they are often manuscripts (handwritten by the composer or a copyist) or earlier editions which can demonstrate period practice. Keep in mind, however, that the Libraries might have more accurate editions which have been edited by publishers or scholars.

The Libraries also offers digital scores through the database Music Online: Classical Scores Library. These scores can be found in OneSearch, just like print scores, or by accessing the Alexander Street database directly. Additionally, some publishers and composers offer perusal scores at their websites which are perfect for study, but which are not licensed for performance.

Websites with Digital Scores:

Oxford Music Online defines a scholarly edition as one which is "prepared on the basis of a critical evaluation of all known primary sources [and] designed to present the most authoritative, authentic version of its contents." While the terms "scholarly" edition and "critical" edition are essentially synonymous, they are distinguished from a "practical" or "performance" edition which is meant primarily for the use of the performing musician and might make interpretive adjustments to assist in its usage. In both research and performance, it is important to understand which edition you are using and to seek the appropriate edition when possible.

In the print Music Collection, many scholarly editions can be found in M2 and M3, although these are far from the only places you will find them. According to Library of Congress Classification, M2 corresponds to Musical Sources, including Monuments and various facsimile series, while M3 consists of Collected Works such as the Complete Editions of a single composer. Most M2s and M3s are shelved in Ranges 1 through 5 toward the back of the Music Collection; oversize volumes and miniscores are in Ranges 15 and 16. To learn more about these types of publications and view lists of Music Collection holdings, see the Musical Sources (M2) and Complete Editions (M3) pages at the Music History Research Guide.