Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jazz

Guide to Jazz: Research and Information for scholars, performers, and listeners

Jazz Reference Materials in the Music Collection

Bibliographies (Lists of books and articles)

  • Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd edition, by Eddie Meadows
    A good starting point
    ML 128 .J3 M 34 2006
  • Jazz books in the 1990s: An Annotated Bibliography by Janice Leslie Hochstat-Greenberg
    ML128.J3 H63 2010
  • The Jazz Standards: A Guide to the Repertoire, by Ted Gioia
    ML 128 .J3 G56 2012

For a complete list, Search Jazz -- Bibliography in OneSearch

Discographies  (Lists of recordings)

  • The Penguin guide to jazz on CD, 7th edition.  Edited by Richard Cook and Brian Morton.
    ML156.4.J3 C67 2004
  • Jazz on Record: The First Sixty Years, by Scott Yanow
    ML156.4.J3 Y36 2003
  • All Music Guide to Jazz, 3rd edition.  Edited by Michael Erlewine
    ​ML156.4.J3 A45 1998
    Includes reviews and ratings.
  • The Blackwell Guide to Recorded Jazz, 2nd edition.  Edited by Barry Kernfeld
    ML156.4.J3 B66 1995

For a complete list, search Jazz -- Discography as a subject search in OneSearch

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.  Edited by Barry Dean Kernfeld
    ML 102 .J3 N48 0202 (3 volumes)
  • Oxford Music Online (log in required from off campus)
    Includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Articles in Magazines & Journals

OneSearch searches multiple article databases while also searching the Libraries' catalog.  You can narrow your results by the type of source.  Newspaper articles may include reviews of concerts or recordings.  Magazine articles could include specialty magazines such as Down Beat, Rolling Stone, or Guitar Player.   

 

Note:  Down Beat, one of the most important sources of jazz information and reviews, is not available full-text online, but it is fully indexed online.  Bracken Library subscribes to it in print.  Current issues are kept on the First Floor in the Current Periodicals area.  Past issues are kept on the Second Floor, West Side, in the Bound Periodicals area, Range 37.

 

For scholarly journals, check both "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" and  "Journal Article:"