Online Learning Resources

Several helpful online resources include citation style formats and examples:

• Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
  • The Purdue OWL includes examples and formatting instructions for in-text citations and the Works Cited page as well as general format for the research paper.
• Purdue OWL APA Formatting and Style Guide
  • The Purdue OWL includes examples and formatting instructions for in-text citations and the Reference list as well as general format for the research paper.
• Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
  • The Purdue OWL includes examples focusing mainly on the Notes-Bibliography system used in the humanities.
• APA Style Blog
  • Do you ever have a unique item to cite and can't find it in your citation manual? The APA Style Blog has several examples of how to deal with challenging source citations in your research. Use the search box to find entries relevant to your question.

For additional writing support, contact the BSU Writing Center

• The Writing Center offers individual online appointments for online and distance education students.

EndNote is a bibliographic software package that allows you to create a library of citations and manage your research resources.

• It's easy to use EndNote because library databases allow you to export citations for articles and other materials to your EndNote account with one click
• You may download a copy from the Technology HelpDesk (Ball State username and password required). 
• A guide to using EndNote is available here
• Additional set-up instructions, usage information, and help may be found here

Cloud computing services enable users to store files on remote servers and access them from anywhere.  These services, a few of which are described below, may be particularly useful for online and distance education users taking classes or teaching at BSU distance locations who need to collaborate and share files with classmates online or use multiple computers and/or mobile devices to complete their work. 

Storage and Document Creation

OneDrive: https://www.bsu.edu/onedrivehelp

• OneDrive is a cloud storage solution from Microsoft. As part of your Ball State Office 365 account, all Ball State students, faculty and staff have unlimited online storage on OneDrive. Utilizing OneDrive provides you with an easy way to store and access your Ball State work as well as share files with others

Google Drive:  http://drive.google.com

• Google Drive is "a suite of products that lets you create different kinds of documents, work on them in real time with other people, and store your documents and your other files -- all online, and all for free."  Document types include text documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and more. 

Evernote: http://www.evernote.com

• Evernote is a multi-platform application which allows you to take notes and archive items (including PDFs, images, and voice memos) and sync those materials between all your computers and mobile devices.  You can import files from different apps and Evernote offers various sharing, email, and printing options.

Bibliographic Management

EndNote

• EndNote is a bibliographic software package available to Ball State affiliates. Users can export citations from library databases and manage their research materials in one place.

Zotero:

• Zotero is a free Firefox add-on (they do offer Chrome and Safari connectors) that allows you to "collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources."  Their documentation page offers detailed information regarding system requirements, set-up, usage, and tips.

Mendeley:

• Mendeley is a "free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research."  Like Zotero, they offer a comprehensive support page.