Musical Instruments

Flute article in Grove Music Online (Log in required from off campus)

Reference Books in the Music Collection

• A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist, by Susan Maclagan
  ML102 .F58 M33 2009
• Repertoire Catalogue: Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute, by Peter van Munster
  ML128 .F7 M86 2004
• A Handbook of Literature for the Flute, rev. ed., by James Pellerite.
  ML128 .F7 P4 1965
• Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog, by Heidi Boenke
  ML128 .F7 B6 1988
• Flute Music of the 18th Century: An Annotated Bibliography by Frans Vester
  ML128 .F7 V46 1985
• A Guidebook to Flute Choir Literature, by Carol Noe
  ML128 .F7 N64 1996
• Flute Syllabus: The Royal Conservatory of Music
  Official Examination Syllabus (1992 ed.)
  ML132 .F7 R3 1992

Books About the Flute & Piccolo

​Flute Technique (Subject Search: Flute--Instruction and Study)

• The Flutist's Handbook: A Pedagogy Anthology,
  by the National Flute Association
  MT340 .F59 1998
• Flute for Dummies, by Karen Moratz
  MT348 .M64 2010
• Flute Technique, by Gareth Morris
  MT340 .M73 1991
• The French Flute School, 1860-1950, by Claude Dorgeuille
  ML937 .D67 1986
• The Pedagogical Techniques and Methods of Flutist
  William Montgomery, by Linda Kirkpatrick
  MT340 .K57 2006
• Alternative Fingerings for the Flute, by Néstor Herszbaum​
  MT340 .H47 2003
• Orchestral Techniques for Flute and Piccolo: An Audition Guide, by Walfrid Kujala
  MT346 .K85 2006
• Bel Canto Flute: The Rampal School
  MT342 .C64 2003
• Circular Breathing for the Flutist, by Robert Dick
  MT342 .D496 1987
• The Other Flute: A Performance Manual of
  Contemporary Techniques, by Robert Dick
   MT340 .D52 O8 1975
• The Complete Piccolo: A Comprehensive Guide to Fingerings,
  Repertoire and History, edited by Jan Gippo 

              ML935 .G57 2009

Search RILM Abstracts of Music Literature for Oboe as a subject (Log-in required from off-campus)

Oboe article in Grove Music Online (Log-in required from off-campus)

Reed-Making (Subject Search: Oboe Reeds)

• Anderson, Valarie.  Gouge, Shape, and Scrape:
  A Complete Guide to the Oboe Reed
  ML941 .A53 2009
• Ledet, David.  Oboe Reed Styles: Theory and Practice (1981)
  ML941 .L4 
• Light, Jay.  The Oboe Reed Book (1983)
  ML941 .L53 1983

Technique  (Subject Search: Oboe -- Instruction and Study)

• Oboe Secrets:  75 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, by Jacqueline Leclair.
  MT360 .L43 2013
• Rothwell, Evelyn.  Oboe Technique, 3rd ed.
  MT360 .R8 1982
• Schuring, Martin.  Oboe: Art & Method
  MT360 .S38 2009
• Van Cleve, Libby.  Oboe Unbound: Contemporary Techniques, rev. ed.
  MT360 .V35 2014

English Horn 

English Horn: articles in English via RILM (Log-in required from off-campus)

• Soloistic English Horn Literature from 1736-1984, by William Wallace McMullen 
  MT128 .O2 M3 1994  (Music Collection Reference)
• Oboe Secrets:  75 Performance Strategies for the
  Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, by Jacqueline Leclair
  MT360 .L43 2013

Clarinet article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)

Books (Subject Search: Clarinet)

• The Clarinet, by Eric Hoeprich, 3rd ed.
  ML945 .H64 2008
• The Early Clarinet: A Practical Guide, by Colin Lawson
  ML945 .L39 2000
• The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing, by David Pino
  MT380 .P56
• The Educator's Guide to the Clarinet, by Thomas Ridenour
  MT380 .R533 2002

Technique (Subject Search: Clarinet--Instruction and Study)

• Campione on Clarinet: A Complete Guide to Clarinet Playing and Instruction
  MT380 .C36 2012
• A Practical Approach to the Clarinet, by David Etheridge
  • For beginning clarinetists:  MT385 .E843 2008
  • For intermediate clarinetists:  MT385 .E845 2008
  • For advanced clarinetists:  MT385 .E842 2009
• Embouchure Building for Clarinetists, 10th ed. by Larry Guy
  MT380 .G89 2011
• Intonation Training for Clarinetists, 3rd ed., by Larry Guy
  MT380 .G894 1996
• Extensions of Technique for Clarinet and Saxophone, by Ronald Caravan
  MT339 .C37 E9 1974
• The Everyday Virtuoso, by Robert Chesebro and Tod Kerstetter
  MT380 .C44 2008
• The Educator's Guide to the Clarinet, 2nd. ed., by W. Thomas Ridenour
  MT380 .R533 2002

Bass Clarinet

• The Bass Clarinet: A Method, by Jean-Marc Volta
  MT392.2 .V65 1996

Online Resources

• International Clarinet Association:  http://clarinet.org
• The Clarinet Institute of Los Angeles:  http://www.clarinetinstitute.com/
• The Clarinet Quintet, a database:  http://clarinetquintet.web.unc.edu/

"Bassoon" article in Grove Music Online, by WIlliam Waterhouse. (Log-in required from off-campus)

Books about the Bassoon

• The Bassoon, by James B. Kopp
  ML950 .K66 2012
• The Oboe and the Basson, by Gunther Joppig
  ML940 .J6613 1988

Bassoon Repertoire

• Music for Unaccompanied Solo on: An Annotated Bibliography, by John Beebe
  ML128 .B26 B43 (Music Collection Reference)
• The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon
  ML128 .B26 F6 1988

Bassoon Reed Making

• Bassoon Red Making: A Pedagogic History, by Christin Schillinger
  ML951 .S35 2016
• Bassoon Reed Making Including Bassoon Repair, Maintenance, and
  Adjustment, and an Approach to Bassoon Playing
   ML951 .P66

Bassoon Technique
(Subject Search:  Bassoon--Study and Teaching or Bassoon--Methods)

• The Art of Bassoon Playing, 2nd ed., by William Spencer
  MT400 .S74 1969
• Essentials of Bassoon Technique, by Lewis Hugh Cooper and Howard Toplansky
  MT400 .C66 1968
• Primary Handbook for Bassoon, by Richard Polonchak
  MT402 .P64 P71