Historical Instruments
Historical Strings
Performance Practice (General Subject Search: Performance Practice (Music) )
- Style and Performance for Bowed String Instruments in French Baroque Music, by Mary Cyr
ML497.2 .C97 2012 - The Early Violin and Viola: A Practical Guide, by Robin Stowell
ML855 .S79 2001
Plucked Instruments
- The Classic Image: European History and Manufacture of the Lyre
Guitar, 850-1840, by Stephen Bonner
ML1015.L9 B65 Archives & Special Collections (2nd Floor)
- Stringed Instruments of Ancient Greece, by Martha Maas
ML169 .M2 1989 - Performance on Lute, Guitar, and Vihuela: Historical Practice and Modern Interpretation
ML1003 .P47 1997 - Kinyras: The Divine Lyre, by John Franklin
- ML169 .F73 2015
Bowed Instruments
- The Viola D'Amore, by Harry Danks
ML760 .D36 - The Music for Viola Bastarda, by Jason Paras
ML760 .V565 P37 1986 - Guide des Instruments de la Renaissance (CDs with book)
Compact Disc 9586
The Viol / Viola da Gamba
- The Viol: History of an Instrument, by Annette Otterstedt
ML927 .V5 O8813 2002 - Early History of the Viol, by Ian Woodfield
ML760 .V55 W66 1984 - Play the Viol, by Alison Crum with Sonia Jackson
MT338 .C93 1989 - Performance Practice and Technique in Marin Maris'
Pièces de viole, by Deborah Teplow
MT145 .M37 T4 1986 - A Handbook of French Baroque Viol Technique, by John Hsu
MT338 .H78 - Published Music for the Viola da Gamba and Other Viols, by Robin De Smet
ML128 .S7 D48 (Music Collection Reference) - The Viola Da Gamba: Its Origin and History,
Its Technique and Musical Resources, by Nathalie Dolmetsch
ML760 .D64 1968 - Viola da Gamba article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)
- Viol article in Grove Music Online
Historical Woodwinds
Selected Books
- 4900 Historical Woodwind Instruments: An Inventory of
200 Makers in Internaitonal Collections, by Phillip Young
ML931 .Y68 1993 - From Renaissance to Baroque: Change in Instruments and
Instrumental Music in the Seventeenth Century, by the National
Early Music Association Conference
ML467 .N18 2005 - Baroque Woodwind Instruments: A Guide to their History, Repertoire, and
Basic Technique, by Paul Carroll
ML931 .C37 1999
Flute
- The Flute: A Study of Its History, Development and
Construction, by Philip Bate
ML935 .B25 - On Playing the Flute, by Johann Quantz, trans. Reilly, 2nd ed.
MT342 .Q313 2001 - Michel Corrette and Flute-Playing in the Eighteenth Century, by Carol Reglin Farrar
MT342 .C813 - The Keyed Flute, by Johann Tromlitz, tran. Ardal Powell
MT342 .T7313 1996
Oboe
- The Oboe, by Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes
ML940 .B87 2004 - The Oboe: An Outline of its History, Development, and
Construction, 3rd ed. by Philip Bate
ML940 .B37 1975
Bassoon
- The Bassoon, by James B. Kop
ML950 .K66 2012
Recorder
- Recorder article from Grove Music Online
- American Recorder Society site
- Recorder Technique, by Anthony Rowland-Jones
MT340 .R67 1969
Historical Brass
- The Keyed Trumpet and Its Greatest Virtuoso, Anton Weidinger, by Reine Dahlqvist
ML960 .D25 - History of the Trumpet of Bach and Handel, by Werner Menke
ML960 .M45 1972 - The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet
Before 1721, 2nd. ed. by Don Smithers
ML960 .S63 1988 - The Last Trumpet: A History of the English Slide Trumpet,
by James Brownlow
ML960 .B76 1996 - The Wagner Tuba: A History
ML955 .M45 2008 - The Early Horn: A Practical Guide, by John Humphries
ML955 .H86 2000 - The Horn in Early Eighteenth-Century Dresden: The Players and their Repertory, by Thomas Hiebert
ML955 .H53 1989A - The Horn and Horn-Playing, and the Austro-Bohemian Tradition from 1680-1830
ML955 .F58
Historical Organs
Medieval & Renaissance
The Organ in Western Culture, 750 - 1250
Baroque Era
The Organs of J.S. Bach: A Handbook, by Christoph Wolff
Bach's Feet: The Organ Pedals in European Culture, by David Yearsley
The Evolution of Organ Music in the 17th Century: A Study of European Styles
The Registration of Baroque Organ Music, by Barbara Owen
The Keyboard in Baroque Europe, by Christopher Hogwood
Playing Bach on the Keyboard: A Practical Guide, by Richard Troeger
19th - 21st Centuries
Twentieth-Century Organ Music, by Christopher Anderson
National and Regional Traditions
The History of the English Organ, by Stephen Bicknell
French Organ Music in the Reign of Louis XIV, by David Ponsford
The Language of the Classical French Organ: A Musical Tradition Before 1800,
by Fenner Douglass
The Organ and Its Music in German-Jewish Culture, by Tina Frühauf
Tuning and Temperament
Modern keyboard instruments have standardized tuning, with an equal number of sound vibrations (megaherz) per half-step. This is called equal temperament. Before this method was developed, keyboard instruments were tuned by their maker, in the case of organs, or by the player, in the case of clavichord and harpsichord. The builder or player used one of many systems to tune their instruments.
Oxford Music Online has these useful articles on temperament (Log in required from off campus):
"Temperaments" in New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd. ed., by Mark Lindley
"Equal Temperament," in New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd. ed., by Mark Lindley
Books in the Music Collection
A Guide to Musical Temperament, by Thomas Donahue
Tuning the Historical Temperaments by Ear A Manual of Eighty-Nine Methods for
Tuning Fifty-One Scales on the Harpsichord, Piano, and Other Keyboard
Instruments, by Owen Jorgensen