It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HSC 387: Quantitative Methods and Epidemiology
Statistical reference resources for HSC 387: Quantitative Methods & Epidemiology.
Health, United States is an annual report that collects statistical health trends in the united states. Statistical data is often broken into various health trends related to age, gender, race, socioeconomic status, and/or geographical location.
The HIV Surveillance Report, formerly known as the HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports, is an annual report put out by the CDC which documents cases of HIV and AIDS in the United States with corresponding data regarding occurrence by geography, socioeconomic status, age, gender, etc.
The CDC collects information from various local U.S. health agencies regarding reported cases of a number of specific diseases each week and distributes those statistics weekly in the MMWR. Reported cases of those diseases are displayed as a total summary and then broken down into geographic regions which are further broken down into individual states. Numbers may be further broken down into categories by age, and statistics of outbreak cases from the previous year are provided for comparison. The MMWR also contains a weekly count of deaths in 121 select U.S. cities with those mortality statistics broken down into age groups.
The Census Bureau website contains an abundance of resources and statistics related to various aspects of the population of the United States. Much of the information has been broken down into specific geographic areas as well. You can either a) query the resources or b) browse the publications online.
Can do a keyword search using the search box in the blue box
Can use the Advanced Search in the area below the blue box to query by geography, topic, and date
To create a query by topic, geography, etc. use the menu on the left side of the Advanced Search screen to select a topic, geography, or date and click on the Search button in the lower right corner of the screen. Other search tips can be found here.
Formerly known as Household and Family Characteristics, this annual publication put out in March and contains estimates of population household characteristics. To find tables from this report, select a year, then look for either American Families and Living Arrangements or Household and Family Characteristics on the list. Covers 1890 to present. Note: Not all years have reports or tables. Some years provide tables in .pdf only.
The Statistical Abstracts of the United States is an annual publication with basic statistical data on a variety of topics including population information, health and healthcare topics, travel, transportation, and crimes to name just a few categories. The newest edition is in print at the Reference Desk and older editions may be found in the General Collection.
Click on Profiles near the top of the screen and select Indiana IN Depth to see population and statistical information for Indiana including population change, estimates, housing, education, income, births, deaths, and more. To see county information, click on Profiles and then Indiana IN Depth. Use the County drop down box to select a county.
The Monthly Labor Review is a publication that is published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Each issue contains a section with data on current CPI statistics. Click on Archives and select Browse by Date to view the current and older issues.
Note: Issues are also available online in Business Source Complete which can be found on our Databases page.