Find Scores
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection at University Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing scores on the shelves. This system, maintained by the national library of the United States and utilized by libraries across the country and around the world, groups together scores by genre, form, and instrumentation. Each item is then assigned a unique call number which combines alphabetical and numerical characters. These features are designed to make browsing library collections easier for users and librarians alike. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND guitar to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Guitar Music:
M125 - 129 Works for solo guitar
M125 Miscellaneous collections
M126 - 127 Original compositions
M126 Collections
M127 Separate works
M128 - 129 Arrangements
M128 Collections
M129 Separate works
M142.B33 Works for electric bass
M142.E4 Works for electric guitar
M276 - 277 Works for guitar and piano
M1037.4.G8 Works for guitar and orchestra --> concertos
MT 580 - 599 Instruction and study
MT 580 General works
MT 582 Systems and methods
MT 585 Studies and exercises --> etudes
MT 588 Self-instructors
MT 590 - 599 Other instruments of the guitar family
MT 599.B4 Electric bass
MT 599.E4 Electric guitar
*See the Music Performance Research Guide for advice on finding scores in OneSearch.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies each feature works for classical guitar by several composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos by
The pieces and etudes you need to develop your first classical guitar repertoire. This book with access to online audio examples contains delightful repertory of pieces in both standard notation and tab for the beginning or intermediate player. The selections are drawn from all periods of classical guitar literature and have been newly arranged and edited by Jerry Willard. The audio includes full-length performances. Learn pieces by Sor, Carulli, Dowland, Mozart, Tarrega, and many more.
Call Number: M125 .A15 1999Publication Date: 1999
Guitar Classics: Works by Albéniz, Bach, Dowland, Granados, Scarlatti, Sor, and Other Great Composers by
More than 50 classic guitar works, from rarities to popular favorites, appear in this remarkable musical treasury. Each work has been newly edited and/or transcribed for solo guitar by guitarist and music scholar David Nadal and printed from engraved plates prepared specially for this edition. Guitarists at every level of expertise will find this sturdy, attractive, modestly priced collection of enduring works an indispensable addition to their musical libraries.
Call Number: M125 .G85 1999Publication Date: 1999
Homenaje a Segovia: An Anthology of Contemporary Music for Guitar by
Works for guitar written to mark the 25th anniversary of the death of Andrés Segovia.
Call Number: M126 .H66 2014Publication Date: 2014
The Classical Guitar Compendium: Classical Masterpieces Arranged for Solo Guitar by
Bring the world of classical music to guitarists of all levels! This collection features classical guitar technical studies from Sor, Tárrega, Guiliani, Carcassi, and Aguado, as well as presenting fresh guitar arrangements of well-known classical masterpieces. Repertoire compositions are included from the likes of Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Massenet, Mozart, Pachelbel, Ravel, Schumann, Tchaikovsky, Wagner, and more. Access to online recorded guitar solo performances by the author is also included. The book includes notes and tablature.
Call Number: M128 .C554 2013Publication Date: 2013
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.