Recommended Books
The recommended books below include reference and general works on woodwind instruments. Bibliographies can be found in ML 128.W5, histories in ML 931, and teaching methods in MT 339.5. Books are sorted by their call numbers for ease of browsing. Click on the info icon to see a description.
-
Wind Chamber Music: Winds with Piano and Woodwind Quintets: An Annotated Guide
by
Wind Chamber Music: Winds With Piano And Woodwind Quintets is an invaluable reference work for music teachers, professional and amateur musicians, and music students. It will help them create programs by specific ethnic groups, identify the mainstream repertoire, find works appropriate for students, or search for a fun filler piece for a pops concert. This guide lists works in print for woodwind quintet and piano with two to five wind instruments- flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, or horn. The book is divided into five sections: two winds with piano; three winds with piano; four winds with piano; five winds with piano; and wind quintet. Each entry provides composer birth and death dates, composition date, publisher, nationality, recording availability, instrumentation, length, and general description of the compositional style.
Call Number: ML128.C4 S43 1996 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1996 -
Catalogue of Chamber Music for Woodwind Instruments
by
This catalogue of chamber music fulfils a long-standing need in the field of woodwind ensemble music. While this catalogue is not a complete list so far as the whole literature is concerned, it does attempt to bring together a very carefully selected group of compositions, both for training and for performance.
Call Number: ML128.W5 H7 1962A (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1973 -
Woodwind Music of Black Composers
by
This pioneering volume will become the standard source of information on nineteenth and twentieth century Black composers from three continents as well as their woodwind compositions. It contains the most current and complete biographical data on 90 African composers, Afro-American composers, Afro-Latin composers, and Afro-European composers, including their education and professional experience and information on their continuing musical influence. A distinctive feature is the separate, easy-to-use woodwind music index of both published and unpublished works for solo and chamber ensembles that groups the music by medium and numbers into 27 categories that contain some 430 works.
Call Number: ML128.W5 H65 1990 (Music Reference)Publication Date: 1990 -
Baroque Woodwind Instruments: A Guide to Their History, Repertoire, and Basic Technique
by
This book provides a guide to the history of the four main woodwind instruments of the Baroque--the flute, oboe, recorder, and bassoon--and this is complemented by a repertoire list for each instrument. It also guides those interested towards a basic technique for playing these instruments and it can be used by students, professionals, and amateurs. Advice is also given on buying a suitable reproduction instrument from a market where now virtually any Baroque instrument can be obtained as a faithful copy. This is the first book of its kind and has its origins in the wind tutors of the 18th century.
Call Number: ML931 .C37 1999Publication Date: 1999 -
Acoustical Aspects of Woodwind Instruments
by
This classic study, now revised and updated, shows how scientific calculations can be used to improve the understanding, design, and tuning of woodwind instruments. A powerful tool for correcting tuning errors in existing instruments and for creating new designs, Nederveen's work has long been a standard in the field of acoustics. In an extended new chapter, Nederveen analyzes and interprets recent developments in research on the acoustics of woodwind instruments. This revised edition, which also contains a new list of symbols and a new subject index, is a necessity for scholars, teachers, and practitioners of music, physics, acoustics, and woodwind design.
Call Number: ML931 .N43 1998Publication Date: 1998 -
Woodwind Instruments: Purchasing, Maintenance, Troubleshooting, and More
by
Why does the low register of any woodwind instrument respond poorly? Where can you purchase good double reeds? What should you do when a woodwind instrument cracks? What options are needed on a school oboe and bassoon? How do you deal with stuck swabs? Why is one particular note sharp or flat? Why is just the upper, middle or lower register flat or sharp? These and countless other questions about purchasing, maintaining, troubleshooting, repairing and storing woodwind instruments are answered in this comprehensive yet concise handbook.
Call Number: ML931 .W48 2016Publication Date: 2016 -
Wind Talk for Woodwinds: A Practical Guide to Understanding and Teaching Woodwind Instruments
by
Wind Talk for Woodwinds provides instrumental music teachers, practitioners, and students with a handy, easy-to-use pedagogical resource for woodwind instruments found in school instrumental programs. With thorough coverage of the most common woodwind instruments - flute, oboe, clarinet, saxophone, and bassoon - the book offers the most topical and information necessary for effective teaching. This includes terminology, topics, and concepts associated with each specific instrument, along with teaching suggestions that can be applied in the classroom.
Call Number: MT339.5 .E49 2009Publication Date: 2009 -
Teaching Woodwinds
by
Teaching Woodwinds draws on the author's thirty-five years of experience teaching woodwinds to students. Organized by specific topics from the fundamentals of hand and finger position to articulation and intonation. Drawing on a classic set of teacher/student duets, the included twenty-five class lessons enable students to learn by doing and by listening as they play duets with the instructor.
Call Number: MT339.5 .G75 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
Teaching Woodwinds: A Method and Resource Handbook for Music Educators
by
This method and resource handbook for music education students offers an overview of basic instructional techniques with relevant musical examples; discusses selection, care, and assembly of instruments; and supplies a complete bibliography of educational materials. Throughout the text's coverage of fundamentals, special emphasis is placed on developing ideas for innovative teaching strategies.
Call Number: MT339.5 .T4 1998Publication Date: 1998 -
Woodwind Methods: An Essential Resource for Educators, Conductors, and Students
by
This book was designed for use in a one or two semester heterogeneous college woodwind methods class or as a quick reference manual for school band and orchestra directors. It provides concise descriptions including instrument similarities and differences, breath support, reed adjustment and transposition.
Call Number: MT339.5 .W467 2015 (Music Collection Oversize)Publication Date: 2015
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.