Find Scores
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing print books and scores on the shelves. Used in libraries worldwide, this system groups items by topic and assigns each a unique alphanumeric call number. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND flute to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Flute Music:
M60 - 64 Works for solo flute
M240 - 244 Works for flute and piano
M240 Miscellaneous collections
M241 - 242 Original compositions
M241 Collections
M242 Separate works --> sonatas
M243 - 244 Arrangements
M288 - 289 Duets for two wind instruments
M290 - 297 Duets for one string and one wind instrument
M322 Trios for one string, one wind, and keyboard
M357.2 Woodwind trios
M557 Woodwind quintets
M1020 - 1021 Works for flute and orchestra --> concertos
M1020 Scores. Parts
M1021 Piano reductions
M1120 - 1121 Works for flute and string orchestra
MT 340 - 359 Instrumental techniques
MT 342 Systems and methods
MT 345 Studies and exercises --> etudes
MT 346 Orchestral excerpts
*See the Music Performance Research Guide for advice on finding scores in OneSearch.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies each feature works for flute by several composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
The NFA 20th-Anniversary Anthology of American Flute Music by
This 200-page hardback volume contains 18 works in a broad diversity of styles. Many leading US composers are represented, and seventeen of the works are published for the first time. Most pieces are for the concert flute, but also included are works for alto flute, piccolo, and baroque flute.
Call Number: M178 .N45 1993Publication Date: 1993
Flute Music by French Composers: For Flute and Piano by
Contents: Prelude et Scherzo (Henri Busser) * Concertino, Op. 107 (Cecile Chaminade) * Concertino, Op. 45 (Alphonse DuVernoy) * Cantabile et Presto (Georges Enesco) * Fantasie, Op. 79 (Faure) * Andante et Scherzo (Louis Ganne) * Fantasie, Nocturne at Allegro Scherzando (Philippe Gaubert) * Ballade (Perilhou) * Andante Pastoral et Scherzettino (Paul Taffanel).
Call Number: M240.F58 M6 1967Publication Date: 1967
Selected Flute Solos by
This classic collection provides the student and teacher a unique sourcebook of compositions chosen for their technique, phrasing, and melodic beauty. It features fine flute solos which are diverse in style and suitable for concert and contest use. Contents: Gavotte (J.S. Bach) * Fantasie, Op. 79 (Faure * Sonata No. 2 (Handel) * Andalouse, Op. 20 (Pessard) * Legende Pastorale, Op. 138 (Godard) * Serenade * Hue * Fantasie Pastorale Hongroise, Op. 26 (Doppler) * Melodie (Gluck) * Concertino, Op. 107 (Chaminade) * Scherzo (Mendelssohn) * Bolero, Op. 28, No. 2 (Pessard) * Concerto No. 2, K314 (Mozart).
Call Number: M240 .S45 1958Publication Date: 1958
Virtuoso: Anthology of Showpieces for Flute and Piano by
Includes original compositions and arrangements for flute and piano by Bach, Boehm, Chaminade, Chopin, Doppler, Fauré, Gluck, Kuhlau, Schubert, and others
Call Number: M240 .V57 2009 V.1-3Publication Date: 2009
Flute Music by Female Composers: 13 Pieces for Flute and Piano by
In this collection, Elisabeth Weinzierl-Wächter and Barbara Heller present works for flute and piano by 13 female composers: starting with the 18th century, with sonatas by Anna Amalia von Preußen and Anna Bon di Venezia, via the 19th century with variations by Blahetka and Sérénade aux Étoiles by Cecile Chaminade, and via works by Mélanie Bonis, Lili Boulanger, Germaine Tailleferre to the present time with works by Barbara Heller, Gloria Coates, Dorothee Eberhardt, Caroline Ansink, Annette Schlünz and Christine K. Brückner.
Call Number: M241 .F62 2019Publication Date: 2019
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.