LibGuides: Dance Resources: Watch Video

Watch Video

Online Streaming Resources

University Libraries subscribes to several streaming platforms which include videos of theatre and dance productions and other resources. These platforms often feature niche content which is more current and better organized than familiar commercial platforms like YouTube and Netflix.

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Description: Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Time Period:
Sources:
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
Description: Digital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Provides access to 774 productions, 1126 video resources, 661 written resources, and 298 teaching resources.
Subject Headings: Theater, Arts, and Dance, General
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Video, Audio, Text
Information Included: NA
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Digital Theatre+
Updates: Varies by content
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.   Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Description: Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.

Note: Creating a profile allows you to access your Dashboard, where you can create and share a watch list. Here's how you do it, see Creating a Kanopy account near the bottom of the page. Also, Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Time Period:
Sources: Select from more than 30,000 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Streaming Video
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Kanopy
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Dance Online: Dance in Video

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video includes foundational videos for the study of dance with 500 hours of content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, and experimental. Additional videos focus on helping students refine their technique with instructional videos of performances, and documentaries about and interviews with influential performers.
Description: Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Time Period:
Sources:
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Tips for using Dance Online: Dance in Video

To search by a topic or by a name, type your words into the search box in the upper-right hand corner, and hit Enter.

Then, if you'd like to place limits on your search, to be more specific about the sort of video you're interested in, click on "Filter your results" or the funnel icon.

For example, I may want to limit to videos including performance and some discussion of Martha Graham, as shown here:

When you click on a filter choice, your results will be adjusted. You may place several filters; but do understand that you'll find fewer and fewer results as you place more filters.

To watch a certain video, click on the video's title, and a new window will open up and the video will start in full screen.

To see more about the video, use the links at the top of the screen.

Especially helpful is the "Cite" option, which allows you to easily get a sample citation for the video in MLA or APA format.