LibGuides: Dance Resources: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Reference sources are designed to provide users with quick and authoritative background information on a given subject. They are the ideal place to familiarize yourself with a subject and its existing literature, although they should never be the culmination of your research process.

Online Reference Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale EBOOKS is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers.
Description: Gale EBOOKS is a collection of searchable subject encyclopedias and reference books from Gale Publishing and many other publishers.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Searches across nearly 500 reference sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Reference books)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Reference Resources
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent:
Publisher: Gale Group
Updates: Yearly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Description: Searchable and browsable collection of highly trusted reference books. Dictionaries and encyclopedias in Oxford Reference Online include general works, foreign-language works, and specialized subject works in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Time Period: Current
Sources: over 200 dictionaries and encyclopedias
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, General, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology (General)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:
Information Included:
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: many Oxford titles, including: Concise Oxford Dictionary of Current English, Oxford Companion to the Bible, Dictionary of the Social Sciences, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Print Reference Books

International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf (Editor); Glynis Benbow-Niemier (Contribution by); St. James Press Staff
Call Number: GV1585 .B46 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
Call Number: GV1585 .C78 2010
Publication Date: 2010
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma J. Cohen; Dance Perspectives Foundation Staff (Editor)
Call Number: GV1585 .I586 1998 V.1
Publication Date: 1998
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers by Martha Bremser (Editor); Deborah Jowitt (Introduction by)
Call Number: GV1785.A1 B74 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Undergraduate Research in Dance by Lynnette Young Overby; Gregory Young; Jenny Olin Shanahan Undergraduate Research in Dance: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills alongside examples of undergraduate research in dance scholarship. Dance can be studied as an expressive embodied art form with physical, cognitive, and affective domains, and as an integral part of society, history, and vast areas of interdisciplinary content. To this end, the guidance provided by this book will equip future dance professionals with the means to move the field of dance forward.
Call Number: GV1589 .O85 2019
Publication Date: 2019