Access World News
For searching newspapers articles included in the database Access World News. Browse suggested topics, and click to perform a search.
Find Articles
Scholarly articles, like books, are textual sources which help you interpret the performances you are studying. They often contain the newest research and presume an expert knowledge which can demand that you consult and compare other perspectives to gain full context. Most articles initially appear within journals, but we tend to access them through online databases. On this page, learn how to find articles and evaluate their authority.
Best Bets for Finding Articles
For the most up-to-date scholarly information, be sure you're searching the databases. The following databases are linked from the University Libraries' Databases page and are recommended for dance research.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full text for the top performing arts journals. The database covers dance and related topics such as film, drama, comedy, mimes, and puppetry.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA general database that includes many dance-related journals. Easy to search, lots of full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR functions as an electronic archive of older journals. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. It often does not contain the most recent years of a journal. Includes several important dance journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format. Includes two dance journals.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowA discovery tool which searches through descriptions of our library titles, as well as a wealth of article databases. Can be useful for finding dance articles in cross-disciplinary works.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides electronic access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index which reports how many times an article is cited and where it is cited. It also allows you to search across more than 1,700 of the leading journals in the arts & humanities.
How to Tell if a Journal is Scholarly
Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals share these characteristics:
Scholars write the articles:
- The author has a PhD or another graduate-level degree.
- The author is an expert in the field.
- The author is usually a university professor.
Scholars decide which articles are published:
- The main editor is a scholar in the same field.
- There is a panel of editors (the "peers" who review the articles). They are usually called an "editorial board." They are also experts in the same field.
- Authors submit their articles to the editorial board, which decides if the articles are appropriate for the journal.
Scholars are cited in the articles:
- The article has a bibliography and footnotes or end-notes
- Authors of the articles and books in the bibliography are scholars.
- The article may refer to the fellow researchers' theories or findings in the body of the article.
Other features:
- The journal is published by an association.
- The word "journal" is in the title.
- Advertising is minimal, usually book publishers or upcoming scholarly events.
- Book reviews are lengthy, often with footnotes or end-notes.
For examples and a comparative chart, see Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Articles from Rutgers University. Also see the guide Evaluating Information Sources by Ball State University Libraries for further considerations.