Hi, Dance students! I'm your library liaison. Ask me for research help!
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Welcome!
Use this guide to learn how to find resources for creating dance videos. Learn about filming technologies. Also read about and watch examples from the professionals!
From your syllabus:
This course focuses on collaboration within and beyond the classroom. Students will gain a basic understanding of film knowledge, basic editing skills, and apply knowledge in collaborative, original dance work for the camera. Students will experience different ways to develop their dance artistry through the film lens, effectively communicate and collaborate with peers, and learn basic project management skills to produce original dance work. Through question-and-answer sessions, students will have access to current working professionals in the dance field including and not limited to performers, producers, directors, choreographers, artistic directors, professors, technical directors, and more.
This course will emphasize personal movement, reflection, group discussion, and feedback within created works for film. Under the direction of the instructor, students will create short form work. Students will share filmed and edited work throughout the course and the course will culminate in a screening of the final film projects. Students will use Critical Response Techniques to discuss videos viewed in class as well as presentations of classmates.
Use OneSearch to locate books and videos
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
To find books and videos in OneSearch related to creating dance videos, try this search:
Then use the limiters on the left, as shown here:
Note: I don't recommend using "Streaming Video." Search directly on Kanopy below.
The books will be in the General Collection, on the upper floors of Bracken Library. Use the Book Locations and Floorplans page to figure out the exact floor to go to, based on the first couple letters of the call number. The call number is circled in the image below. GV, for example, can be found on 3 West.
The video recordings will be available in Education, Music and Media, on the lower level of Bracken.
Kanopy Streaming Films for streaming dance recordings
- Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more. Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Best bets for finding scholarly articles
For the most up-to-date scholarly information, be sure you're searching the databases. The following databases are linked from the University Libraries' Databases page and are recommended for dance research.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full text for the top performing arts journals. The database covers dance and related topics such as film, drama, comedy, mimes, and puppetry.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA general database that includes many dance-related journals. Easy to search, lots of full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR functions as an electronic archive of older journals. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. It often does not contain the most recent years of a journal. Includes several important dance journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format. Includes two dance journals.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowA discovery tool which searches through descriptions of our library titles, as well as a wealth of article databases. Can be useful for finding dance articles in cross-disciplinary works.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
This database provides electronic access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index which reports how many times an article is cited and where it is cited. It also allows you to search across more than 1,700 of the leading journals in the arts & humanities.
When all else fails...
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' collections via WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.