Skip to main content

About Us: Book Locations and Floorplans

OneSearch/CardCat lists a location and a call number for each title.

The Collection Locations table identifies the library, the collection, or the specific area where books may be found.

Call numbers determine where individual books are shelved within each location.  The General Collection Book Locations chart explains where to find General Collection (including Bestsellers and the Garnett Mystery Collection) and Music books shelved in Bracken Library.

Collection Locations

All Collections are in Bracken Library unless noted otherwise

Please ask for assistance at any service point, or by using Ask a Librarian.
 

Collection Name Location
Architecture Library Architecture Building, AB 116
Visual Resources Collection Architecture Building, AB 117
Atlas Collection 2 West
Bound Periodicals 2 West
Current Periodicals 1 East
Education, Music and Media Lower Level West
General Collection See General Collection Chart -->
Government Publications 1 West
Main Circulation/ Reserves Desk 1 East
Map Collection 2 East
Microform Collection 1 East
Bestsellers and Garnett Mystery Collection 1 East
Newspapers 1 East
Reference Collection 1 West
Science Library Cooper Science Building, CN 16
Health Library Health Building, HB 101
Ball State Theses 4 West

General Collection Book Locations

To determine the book location, match the beginning characters of the call number to the chart below.

For example:
    Location: General Collection
    Call Number: QD400 .A18 V.1
would be on 4 East.

All General Collection locations are in Bracken Library.

Call number begins with Location
A - D 2 East
E-H 3 West 
J-PR 3 East
M – MT Lower Level West
PS – QM 4 East
QP-Z 4 West
Oversize 4 West
Oversize - Music Lower Level West

Floorplans

Loading ...