HSC 387: Quantitative Methods and Epidemiology

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention collects, compiles, and publishes statistical information regarding health and mortality in the United States.

Health, United States is an annual report that collects statistical health trends in the united states. Statistical data is often broken into various health trends related to age, gender, race, socioeconomic status, and/or geographical location.

Back to 1975

1975 to 2019 General Collection RA407.3 .H28

The HIV Surveillance Report, formerly known as the HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports, is an annual report put out by the CDC which documents cases of HIV and AIDS in the United States with corresponding data regarding occurrence by geography, socioeconomic status, age, gender, etc.

From 1982 to 2018

The CDC collects information from various local U.S. health agencies regarding reported cases of a number of specific diseases each week and distributes those statistics weekly in the MMWR. Reported cases of those diseases are displayed as a total summary and then broken down into geographic regions which are further broken down into individual states. Numbers and percentages may be further broken down into categories by age, and statistics of outbreak cases from the previous year are provided for comparison. The MMWR also contains a weekly count of deaths in 121 select U.S. cities with those mortality statistics broken down into age groups.

Back to 1982

This is the CDC's annual addition of the MMWR which provides annual statistics for notifiable diseases. It breaks cases down by geography, age, sex, race, and ethnicity.

Back to 1993

Find Indiana disease statistics. Includes vital statistics and infectious diseases from 2012 to 2017.

• Click on Data & Reports in the left column under Department of Health. Next, click on Infectious Diseases and select the year you wish to see.

U.S. and state risk factor data can be found about risks factors such as alcohol use, cardiovascular disease, and other health and fitness factors.

• Click on Prevalence Data & Data Analysis Tools


• Next, click on Prevalence and Trends Data and select a state

To find ASCII and .sas data files, click on the link above then select a year and scroll down to Data Files. Covers 1986 to the most recent survey.

Find Indiana's annual BRFSS reports from 2011 to the most recent year. Scroll to the bottom of the page.

The Census Bureau website contains an abundance of resources and statistics related to various aspects of the population of the United States. Much of the information has been broken down into specific geographic areas as well. You can either a) query the resources or b) browse the publications online.

• Contains 2010 and 2020 Censuses


• Can do a keyword search using the search box at the top of the page


• Can also use the Advanced Search in the area below the blue box to query by geography, topic, and date

To create a query by topic, geography, etc. choose a filter under Find a Filter on the lower left side of the Advanced Search screen. Select a topic, geography, or date and click on the Search button in the lower right corner of the screen. Other search tips can be found here.

Historical population and housing counts for the U.S. from 1790 - 2000. Select a decade. Then scroll down until you the Decennial Census Official Publications link (e.g. 1950 Decennial Official Publications). The links on the Official Publications page appear to be named after the print volumes from the census. You can download the entire volume as a Zip file or the chapters individually.

Formerly known as Household and Family Characteristics, this annual publication put out in March and contains estimates of population household characteristics. To find tables from this report, select a year, then look for either American Families and Living Arrangements or Household and Family Characteristics on the list. Covers 1890 to present.
Note: Not all years have reports or tables. Some years provide tables in .pdf only.

Access the Consumer Price Index detailed reports from 1994 to most the recent year.

The Statistical Abstracts of the United States is an annual publication with basic statistical data on a variety of topics including population information, health and healthcare topics, travel, transportation, and crimes to name just a few. The newest edition is in print at the Library Information Desk and older editions may be found in the General Collection.

We have print volumes from 1878 to 2012

Search or browse U.S. government information. To browse health information, click on All Topics and Services and select Health. This is the official website for searching U.S. government information.

Click on Profiles near the top of the screen and select Indiana IN Depth to see population and statistical information for Indiana including population change, estimates, housing, education, income, births, deaths, and more. To see county information, click on Profiles and then Indiana IN Depth and use the County drop down box to select a county.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics collects and disseminates information regarding many the US workforce and consumers. Click on Subjects to see what kind of information is available.

The Monthly Labor Review is a publication that is published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. To view the current and older issues, click on Archives in the ribbon next to the Monthly Labor Review logo and select Browse by Date.

Note: Issues are also available online in Business Source Complete which can be found on our Databases page.