Ball State Databases - Best Bets
These databases have a high concentration of journals and articles about Classical Studies generally. They are excellent places to begin looking for sources. Other pages in this guide include recommended databases for more specific aspects of Classical Studies, such as language, literature, history, philosophy, and culture.
- Project MuseProject Muse is a full text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from JSTOR, in PDF format.
- JSTORJSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Ball State Databases - Also Try
These databases are more general - that is, each covers multiple subjects - but do include some journals and articles about Classical Studies.
- Academic Search CompleteGood database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
- Humanities Full TextHumanities Full Text encompasses all key fields of the humanities and provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Some topics covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)This database provides electronic access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index which reports how many times an article is cited and where it is cited. It also allows you to search across more than 1,700 of the leading journals in the arts & humanities.
Journals and articles in print
The University Libraries have current and back issues of several Classical Cultures journals in print. You can find them using OneSearch's advanced search feature.
To find back issues of these journals, search for the word "classical" as a subject term and use the "content type" filter to choose "journal/ejournal." On the left side of the results page, click "library location" and choose "bound periodicals." Back issues of journals are shelved alphabetically (by journal title) on Bracken Library's second floor.
Recent printed issues of a few Classical Cultures journals are available in the Current Periodicals collection on Bracken's first floor. These can also be found via OneSearch's advanced search, by choosing "current periodicals" on the results page.