Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cardinal Scholar Institutional Repository and Open Access Resources

Open Access and Institutional Repository Bibliography

Want to know how contribution to Cardinal Scholar can improve the impact of your scholarship and work?  This resource list contains research documenting the impact of open access publishing on the visibility and accessibility of scholarly content.

Open Access and Institutional Repository Bibliography

Anderson, Byron. "Open Access and Institutional Repositories." Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarian. Vol. 23. Vol. 1 (2004): 97-101.   

Antelman, Kristin. “Do Open-Access Articles Have a Greater Research Impact?” College & Research Libraries Vol. 65 No. 5 (September 2004): 372-382. http://crl.acrl.org/content/65/5/372.full.pdf+html

Billings, Marilyn S. “Changing Scholarly Communications and the Role of the Institutional Repository in the Digital Landscape.” University of Maine. Orono, ME. Feb. 2008.  http://works.bepress.com/marilyn_billings/14/

Björk, Bo-Christer and David Solomon. “Open Access Versus Subscription Journals: A Comparison of Scientific Impact.”  BMC Medicine Vol. 10 No. 1 (2012): 73.  http://www.biomedcentral.com/1741-7015/10/73

Casey, Anne M. "Does Tenure Matter? Factors Influencing Faculty Contributions To Institutional Repositories." Journal Of Librarianship & Scholarly Communication. Vol 1 No. 1 (2012): 1-11. Academic Search Premier. http://doi.org/10.7710/2162-3309.1032

Chan, Leslie. "Supporting and Enhancing Scholarship in the Digital Age: The Role of Open Access Institutional Repository." Canadian Journal of Communication. Vol. 29. No. 3 (2004): 277-300. http://cjc-online.ca/index.php/journal/article/viewFile/1455/1580          

Crow, Raym. “The Case for Institutional Repositories: A SPARC Position Paper. Discussion Paper.” ARL Bimonthly Report 223 (2002): https://ils.unc.edu/courses/2015_fall/inls700_001/Readings/Crow2002-CaseforInstitutionalRepositoriesSPARCPaper.pdf 

Cullen R, Chawner B. "Institutional Repositories, Open Access, and Scholarly Communication: A Study of Conflicting Paradigms." Journal Of Academic Librarianship [serial on the Internet]. Vol. 37 No. 6 (December 2011): 460-470. Available from: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.

Davis, Philip M. “The Effect of Public Deposit of Scientific Articles on Readership.” The Physiologist Vol. 55 No. 5 (October 2012): 161, 163-165.  http://www.the-aps.org/mm/Publications/Journals/Physiologist/2010-present/2012/October.pdf

Davis, Philip M. and William H. Walters. “The Impact of Free Access to the Scientific Literature: A Review of Recent Research.” Journal of the Medical Library Association Vol. 99 No. 3 (2011): 208-217.  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3133904/

Emmett, Ada, et al. "Toward Open Access: It Takes A 'Village'." Journal Of Library Administration Vol. 51 No. 5/6 (2011): 557-579. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstractshttps://doi.org/10.1080/01930826.2011.589345

Eysenbach, Gunther. “Citation Advantage of Open Access Articles.” PLoS Biol Vol. 4 No. 5 (16 May 2006): http://www.plosbiology.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pbio.0040157

Frandsen, Tove Faber. “The Integration of Open Access Journals in the Scholarly Communication System: Three Science Fields.” Information Processing & Management Vol. 45 No. 1 (January 2009): 131-141. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0306457308000691

Gargouri, Yassine, Chawki Hajjem, Vincent Larivière, Yves Gingras, Les Carr, et al. “Self-Selected or Mandated, Open Access Increases Citation Impact for Higher Quality Research.” Plos ONE Vol. 5 No. 10 (2010). http://www.plosone.org/article/info:doi/10.1371/journal.pone.0013636

Greyson, Devon, Steven Morgan, Gillian Hanley and Desy Wahyuni. “Open Access Archiving and Article Citations within Health Services and Policy Research.” Journal of the Canadian Health Libraries Association Vol. 32 No. 2 (2011): 45-49.  http://eprints.rclis.org/13292/1/Greyson-OpenAccessarchivingArticleCitatiosHSPR-JCHLA.pdf 

Hansen, David R. "Understanding And Making Use Of Academic Authors' Open Access Rights." Journal Of Librarianship & Scholarly Communication. Vol. 1 No. 2 (2012): 1-10. Academic Search Premier. https://doi.org/10.7710/2162-3309.1050​

Harnad, Stevan and Tim Brody. “Comparing the Impact of Open Access (OA) vs. Non-OA Articles in the Same Journals.” D-Lib Magazine Vol. 10 No. 6 (June 2004).  http://www.dlib.org/dlib/june04/harnad/06harnad.html

Harnad, Stevan. “Maximizing Research Impact Through Institutional and National Open-Access Self-Archiving Mandates.” CRIS2006. Current Research Information Systems: Open Access Institutional Repositories, Bergen, Norway, 11 - 13 May 2006http://eprints.soton.ac.uk/262093/

Harnad, Stevan. “Publish or Perish – Self-Archive to Flourish: The Green Route to Open Access.” ERCIM News Vol. 64 (2006): 12-13. http://eprints.soton.ac.uk/261715/1/harnad-ercim.pdf

Hassall, Christopher. “Going Green”: Self-Archiving as a Means for Dissemination of Research Output in Ecology and Evolution.” Ideas in Ecology and Evolution Vol. 5 No. 2 (2012): 93-98. https://ojs.library.queensu.ca/index.php/IEE/article/view/4555

Johnston, Mark. “Changing the Paradigm: The Role of Self-archiving and Institutional Repositories in Facilitating Global Open Access to Knowledge.” Access to Knowledge Vol. 2 No. 1 (16 August 2010).

Koler-Povh, Teja, Goran Turk, and Primož Južnič. “Does the Open Access Business Model Have a Significant Impact on the Citation of Publications? Case Study in the Field of Civil Engineering.” Journal Publishing in Developing, Transition and Emerging Countries: Proceedings of the 5th Belgrade International Open Access Conference 2012-2013http://boac.ceon.rs/index.php/BOAC/12/paper/view/68/8

Olsbo, Pekka. “Does Openness and Open Access Policy Relate to the Success of Universities?” Information Services & Use Vol. 33 No. 2 (2013): 87-91. https://proxy.bsu.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=91673020&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS) “Making the Case for Open Access.” (2010). Research on Institutional Repositories: Articles and Presentations. Paper 46. http://digitalcommons.bepress.com/repository-research/46/

Prosser, David. "Institutional Repositories and Open Access: The Future of Scholarly Communication." Information Services and Use. Vol. 23 No. 2-3 (2003): 167-170. https://proxy.bsu.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=10717208&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ruiz-Conde, Enar, and Aurora Calderón-Martínez. "University Institutional Repositories: Competitive Environment And Their Role As Communication Media Of Scientific Knowledge." Scientometrics Vol. 98 No. 2 (2014): 1283-1299. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstractshttps://rdcu.be/bf7n9

Sato, Sho. "Growth Of The Open Access Movement And Current Issues. (English)." Journal Of Information Processing & Management / Joho Kanri  Vol. 56 No. 7 (2013): 414-424. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.

Singeh, Feria Wirba, A. Abrizah, and Noor Harun Abdul Karim. "What Inhibits Authors To Self-Archive In Open Access Repositories? A Malaysian Case." Information Development Vol. 29 No. 1 (2013): 24-35. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Swan, Alma and Sheridan Brown. “Open Access Self-archiving: An Author Study.” Departmental Technical Report (May 2005) http://cogprints.org/4385/

Swan, Alma. “The Open Access Citation Advantage: Studies and Results to Date.” (2010) Research on Institutional Repositories (IRs).  http://eprints.soton.ac.uk/268516/

Watson, Carol A., James M. Donovan, and Pamela Bluh, “Institutional Repositories: Essential Infrastructure for Scholarship in the Digital Age” (2009). Research on Institutional Repositories: Articles and Presentations. Paper 61. http://digitalcommons.bepress.com/repository-research/61/

Watson, Carol and James M. Donovan. “Citation Advantage of Open Access Legal Scholarship.” (2011). Articles, Chapters and Online Publications. Paper 24.  http://digitalcommons.law.uga.edu/law_lib_artchop/24/

Xia, Jingfeng, Rebekah Lynette Myers, Sara Kay Wilhoite. “Multiple Open Access Availability and Citation Impact,” Journal of Information Science Vol. 20 No. 10 (December 2010): 1-10.  http://jis.sagepub.com/content/early/2010/12/09/0165551510389358.full.pdf+html

Xia, Jingfeng, Sarah B. Gilchrist, Nathaniel X.P. Smith and Justin A. Kingery, et. al. “A Review of Open Access Self-Archiving Mandate Policies.” Libraries and the Academy Vol. 12 No. (2012): 85-102. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/463981

Zhang, Yanjun. “The Effect of Open Access on Citation Impact: A Comparison Study Based on Web Citation Analysis.” Libri Vol. 56 (2006): 145-156.  http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.103.9094&rep=rep1&type=pdf

Additional Sources

For additional resources on open access and institutional repositories, visit the Open Citation Project open access and citation impact bibliography and the Digital Commons research on institutional repositories resource guide.