Selections from the Digital Media Repository
Ball State Homecoming, 1951 (Click to view film)
Selections from the Digital Media Repository
Artist Grant Wood visits Ball State, 1941 (Click to read more)
Subject Guide
Digital Collections - Overview
This page contains a list of principle archival collections in digital format documenting the history of Ball State University. Collections are subdivided by the following formats: text-based, image-based, and audio-visual.
A complete list of digital collections can be found in the Ball State University Digital Media Repository as well as Cardinal Scholar, Ball State's institutional repository
Digital Collections - Text-Based
- Ball State University Student Newspaper CollectionIncluded in this collection are The Ball State Daily News (1968-present) and its predecessors, The Ball State News (1937-1968) and The Easterner (1922-1937).
- Ball State University Orient Yearbook CollectionThis collection provides online full-text searchable access to editions of The Orient, the now-defunct yearbook produced by Ball State students. Included are editions of the yearbook dating from 1919 to 1965; issues from 1966 to 1996 are available in print in Archives and Special Collections. The Orient provides photographic and textual documentation of student life and campus events from Ball State's history.
- Ball State University Course CatalogsThe Ball State University course catalogs digital collection includes information about academic policies and requirements, course descriptions, programs, admissions and unique student opportunities ranging from 1918 to 1998. Also included are full lists of faculty and administration.
- Ball State University Commencement ProgramsThe Ball State University Commencement Programs digital collection includes graduation ceremony programs from 1913 to present. Use the collection to discover commencement and baccalaureate speakers, names of graduates, and degrees conferred.
- Ball State University Newspaper ClippingsThis collection includes clippings from local and state-level newspapers documenting Ball State-related news events. The collection is full-text searchable and available for use on computers in the Archives & Special Collections reading room.
- Ball State University Student Life CollectionThe Ball State University Student Life Collection contains an assortment of digitized textual records and artifacts broadly documenting the diverse range of student experiences at Ball State University with materials dating from the institution's founding in 1918 to the 1990s.
Digital Collections - Image-Based
- Ball State University Campus PhotographsThe Ball State University Campus Photographs collection contains thousands photographs dating from 1899 to the present, documenting events, activities, individuals, and the campus throughout Ball State's history.
- Ball State University Campus MapsThe Ball State Campus Maps digital collection includes maps of Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1929 to 2009. These maps are valuable resources for researchers interested in the growth of the Ball State University campus over the last century.
- Ball State University Alumni MemorabiliaThe Ball State University Alumni Memorabilia digital collection includes photographs from the Ball State University Alumni Center ranging from 1918 to 2001 regarding student life.
Digital Collections - Audio-Visual
- Ball State University Historic Films and VideosThe Ball State University Historic Films and Videos collection provides online access to digitized videos and films that document significant developments and events, noteworthy scholarship, and student life throughout the institution's history.
- Ball State University Historic Audio RecordingsThe Ball State University Historic Audio Recordings collection contains digitized audio recordings documenting significant events in the institution's history and speeches and lectures given by both Ball State faculty and noted campus visitors.
- Ball State University Faculty Oral HistoriesThe Ball State University Faculty Oral Histories collection provides access to audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with retired Ball State faculty and administrators regarding their experiences at and the history of Ball State University.