Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ku Klux Klan Resources in Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections preserves a wealth of information on the history of the Ku Klux Klan in Indiana and nationwide. Included in these holdings are published and unpublished materials, manuscript collections, A-V materials, and photos.

Manuscript Collections

In addition to the larger manuscript collections described above, Archives and Special Collections also holds smaller manuscript collections of one or two folders of items, all of which are listed in our comprehensive Small Manuscript Collections Guide.

  • "The Ku Klux Klan: A History of Racism and Violence," Klanwatch Special Report (4th edition), 1991 (SC 740)
    • Contains copy of the 4th edition of the Klanwatch special report, "The Klu Klux Klan: A History of Racism and Violence," and a letter from the Southern Poverty Law Center to supporters of the organization from 1991 outlining the activities of the Teaching Tolerance Project and the Klanwatch Project. The report includes a photograph of the 1930 lynching of Tom Shipp and Abe Smith in Marion, Indiana (p. 24).
  • Ku Klux Klan collection, 1913-1970 (SC 112)
    • Contains excerpts of Stephenson's letters endorsing Ed Jackson (1924), copies of Klan membership questionnaire, alleged knights of Columbus initiation pledge ( 1913) and photocopies of newsclippings from the Greenfield daily reporter regarding the auto damage and death threat which reporter William Shaw received for covering Ku Klux 
      Klan activities in October 1970. 
  • United Klans of America collection, 1966-1972 (SC 192)
    • Contains three issues of the Fiery cross (1966?, May 1972, Aug. 1972), brochures on the principles advocated by Knights of the Ku Klux Klan and photocopies of bulletins, application forms, a short history of the Ku Klux Klan, and an advertisement.
  • Traditionalist American Knights of the Ku Klux Klan leaflets and newspaper clippings, 2014 (SC 735)
    • Contains an original leaflet and a photocopy of a leaflet that were distributed in Randolph County, Indiana by the Traditional American Knights of the Ku Klux Klan in 2014. The first leaflet was distributed in Winchester, Indiana around October 10, 2014; the second leaflet was distributed in Farmland, Indiana around December 10, 2014. Also included in the collection are photocopies of newspaper articles about the two incidents.
  • The Ku Klux Klan: A History of Racism and Violence, Klanwatch Special Report (4th edition), 1991 (SC 740)
    • This collection consists of a copy of the 4th edition of the Klanwatch special report, <title render="italic">The Klu Klux Klan: A History of Racism and Violence</title>, and a letter from the Southern Poverty Law Center to supporters of the organization from 1991 outlining the activities of the Teaching Tolerance Project and the Klanwatch Project. The report includes a photograph of the 1930 lynching of Tom Shipp and Abe Smith in Marion, Indiana (p. 24).
  • Letter from the Ku Klux Klan to Daleville United Brethren Church, July 1, 1923 (SC 760)
    • This collection includes a letter written by H.K. Williamson, spokesman for the Daleville, Indiana Ku Klux Klan, to the Daleville United Brethren Church on July 1st, 1923.  The Klan donated $50.00 to the church and instructs the recipients on how to split the money on church projects.