LibGuides: Ku Klux Klan Resources in Archives and Special Collections: Digital Collections

Digital Collections

In an effort to increase access to Middletown and Stoeckel Archives of Local History materials for researchers, the Ball State Universities Libraries, in collaboration with the Center for Middletown Studies, is developing the "Middletown Digital Archives" and other digital collections of documents, oral histories, photographs, maps, and other sources from Archives and Special Collections. As material is digitized, it will become available as part of the Digital Media Repository and accessible through this Web site. Several of these collections document the Ku Klux Klan.

Middletown Digital Oral History Collections
The Middletown Digital Oral History Collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana and local labor union leaders.
Muncie Post-Democrat Newspaper Collection
Includes a sampling of the issues of the Muncie Post Democrat newspaper, a pro-Democrat, anti-Ku Klux Klan newspaper published by George Dale from 1921 through 1936, and continued after his death in to the 1950s.
W.A. Swift Photograph Collection
W.A. Swift was born in Metamora, Indiana, on August 17, 1877. He moved to Muncie in 1918 and was working as a photographer by 1923. He worked as a commercial photographer in Muncie through the 1940s. The collection includes photographs of Klan activities.
George R. Dale Collection
This digital collection features correspondence, telegrams, publications, and a scrapbook pertaining to the life of George R. Dale during his tenure as the Mayor of Muncie and the Editor of the Muncie Post-Democrat. The collection also documents his struggle against the Ku Klux Klan.