Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II Research Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections in the Ball State University Libraries preserves a wealth of information on local history. Included in these holdings are published and unpublished materials, manuscript collections, photographs, and audiovisual materials

Audio-Visual Collections

  • 376th Bombardment Group Oral Histories (V 259) Oral history interviews with members of the 376th Heavy Bombardment Group.
  • "Ode to a DE Sailor" - A sailor (Bob Hoyt) recounts his experiences on the USS Bermingham during World War II (D 003)
     
  • Remembering World War II: East Central Indiana Stories; Interview with Martin Schwartz (V 262)
     
  • St. Mary Catholic Church Archives Veterans History Project (R 78)
  • Veterans Oral History Collection (R 57-59)
  • Veterans Oral History Interviews (V 120-126)
  • Women in Muncie in World War II (R 37)
    Oral History interviews with veterans and others discussing World War II, in addition to other topics, can also be found in the collections that make up the Middletown Digital Oral History Collection in the Digital Media Repository. These include:
    • Black Middletown Collection (R 21)
    • Black Muncie Oral History Project Collection (R 005)
    • Middletown Jewish Oral History Project I Collection (R 14)
    • Middletown Jewish Oral History Project II Collection (R 63)
    • Other Side of Middletown Collection (R 254)
    • St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church Oral History Project Collection (R 77)
    • St. Lawrence Catholic Church Oral History Project Collection (R 79)
    • St. Mary Catholic Church Oral History Project Collection (R 80)