World War II Research Resources in Archives and Special Collections

This collection includes records and correspondence from President Lemuel Pittenger of Ball State Teachers College ranging from 1918 to 1946 regarding different departments, faculty, and buildings on the Ball State Teachers College campus during his presidency.

The contents of the Louis E. Ingelhart collection include information concerning his career and academic activities. Also contained within the collection are correspondence, manuscripts, publications, awards received, photographs, and video cassettes. The correspondence files include letters to and from colleagues and friends, as well as his letters to the editor submitted to various publications. The collection contains material written by Ingelhart, both manuscripts and published works. Ingelhart received many awards during during his extensive career as a journalism educator and first amendment rights advocate, which are contained in the collection as well. The video files contain recorded interviews with Ingelhart, his 55th class reunion, awards ceremonies, and Ingelhart family home videos. The photograph files contain pictures of Ingelhart throughout the years. The photos range from his military service during WWII to his presentation to the National Press Club.

This collection includes publications and correspondences from Ball State University in Munice, Indiana ranging from 1918 to 1962 regarding the alumni association, alumni and veterans.

This collection includes scrapbooks from Sharley B. DeMotte, founder and director of the Ball State Teachers College News Bureau. The scrapbooks were compiled in Muncie, Indiana and range from 1925 to 1954 covering subjects such as academics, student activities, World War II, and the Student Army Training Corps.