African American Studies Resources in Archives and Special Collections

provides online access to a collection of scrapbooks, photographs, newsletters, and videos donated by Allen L. Williams, Class of 1973, documenting the lives and activities of members of the black student and black alumni communities at Ball State University.

This digital collection includes records documenting the work of the Human Relations Council of Delaware County between 1962 and 1984. The Human Relations Council of Delaware County was a voluntary community organization with open membership formed in 1963 to advocate for equality in employment, housing, education, and public accommodation regardless of a person’s race, creed, or place of origin.

The Middletown Digital Oral History Collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana and local labor union leaders.

This digital collection includes correspondence, reports, and other records ranging from 1964-1988 regarding Muncie Human Rights Commission appointments and initiatives. The Muncie Human Rights Commission was created in 1964 for the purpose of studying the problems of discrimination in the city and advocating for equality in education, employment, youth recreation, and housing. This subject-based digital collection is comprised of records from multiple archival collections.

Includes a sampling of the issues of the Muncie Post Democrat newspaper, a pro-Democrat, anti-Ku Klux Klan newspaper published by George Dale from 1921 through 1936, and continued after his death in to the 1950s.

Includes digitized volumes of the Muncie Times newspaper published by owner and publisher Bea Morten-Foster since 1991. This bi-weekly publication serves the African American communities of Muncie, Richmond, Marion, New Castle and Anderson, Indiana.

The Other Side of Middletown Collection includes over 150 digital images, illustrates the history of the life and achievements of African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County through photographs donated by members of the community.