Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Studies Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Archives & Special Collections preserves a wealth of information on African American history in Muncie and Delaware County. Included in these holdings are published and unpublished materials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, and photographs.

Photograph Collections

  • Black Churches in Delaware County (PSC 65)
  • Other Side of Middletown Photographs (EF 2) Scanned photographs from an exhibit on the history of African-Americans in Muncie. This collection is available online through the Digital Media Repository.
  • Photographs of African-Americans can be found in a number of photograph collections in the Archives. A couple of examples merit special mention here. Photographs of Muncie Housing Authority are located in the Spurgeon-Greene Collection. Photographs of Ku Klux Klan activities in East Central Indiana in the 1920s are located in the W. A. Swift Collection.

Audio-Visual Collections

  • Black Women's Program Forum (R 5)
  • Black Middletown Project Records, 1980 (R 21) Transcripts of taped interviews conducted by researchers from the University of Virginia and Virginia Commonwealth University in 1981-82. Digitized audio and transcripts are available online in the Middletown Digital Oral History Collection of the Digital Media Repository (https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/MidOrHis). Also see Black Middletown survey forms.
  • Civil Rights protest at appearance of Presidential candidate George Wallace in Muncie, April 1964 (V 14)
  • Conversation with Vivian Conley, "Spoken from the Heart", 1994 (V 21)
  • Panel of African-American Members of Muncie Fire Department, 1994 (V 22)
  • Narrative History of the First Blacks on the Muncie Fire Department, 5/15/1996 (R 48)
  • Preserve Our Middletown Heritage: An African-American Perspective, 1993 (R 27; V 16)
  • Gregory Williams on Dateline NBC, 2/21/1995 (V 28) 
  • Whitely Neighborhood Story Tellers, 2012/10/23 (UAV 714)

  • Middletown Redux: Making The Other Side of Middletown (V 215)