It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources in Marketing at Ball State University Libraries. You can access this guide directly by going to http://bsu.libguides.com/marketing
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys cover issues, trends, and outlooks for more than 50 industries. Use the main search box to look up a company in the industry you would like to research. Look for the Industry Survey link under My Links in the left column and click on the headline on the results list. Alternatively, hover over the Markets tab and click on Industry Surveys under Market Research. Note that the results list will be in alphabetical order by industry.
Description:Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage provides stock analysis, company financial information, and industry analysis. Time Period: Current Sources: 1 Subject Headings: Business (Company and Industry Information) Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Reports Information Included: Full Text MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Standard and Poor Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
This database contains both market and industry reports. Do a search and click Market Research Reports under Source Types in the left column. For industry information select Industry Profiles in the left column of a results list.
Description:Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Time Period: 1886 to present Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science) Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations MultiLink: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
In addition to stock reports, Value Line provides industry reports for more than 90 industries. To access the reports, click on Markets in the dark blue box below the Value Line logo. Then select Industries in the green box that appears below the dark blue box. Click on View all industry analysis, at the bottom of the box in the right column.
Description: The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.
Note: Click on Sign Out, in the upper right corner, before exiting the database.
Time Period: Current Sources: 1 Subject Headings: Business Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Reports Information Included: MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Value Line Updates: Weekly Number of Simultaneous Users: 3
Search for industry information by entering entering keywords into the search box, then select Reports in the left column of the results list. To browse industry information, click on Industry Information by Small Business Type and select your industry.
Description:Small Business Reference Center provides access to resources designed to help the entrepreneur start a business. Not only does it provide industry reports for many small businesses, it contains book chapters on writing a business plan. Users can search the database for topics or browse articles by business area. It also contains a start-up kit for people looking to start a business. Time Period: 1990 to present Sources: Contains the full text of more than 400 periodical titles, 450 reference books, and 465 industry reports. Subject Headings: Business, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reference Resources, Reports, Videos Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Enter terms that describe consumers into the search box to find reports on consumers (e.g. baby boomers, millennials, mothers, green consumers). Good for psychographics. Also, you might enter a product in the search box.
Description:Mintel Reports provides access to reports on market sizes, market shares and forecasts, and consumer trends. Users will find primary consumer research that helps unraveling key trends, behavior, and attitudes. Reports cover consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Reports are primarily on the U.S. and U.K., some European and Asia reports are included. The database also includes analyst insight and news. Time Period: Current Sources: Contains approximately 800 reports. Subject Headings: Business, Social Sciences (Consumer Behavior) Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: News, Reports, Statistics or Data Information Included: Full Text, Citations MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Mintel Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Click on the link above and then scroll down below the search box and select Market Share Reporter, you can then use the Search Within Series search box in the upper right corner.
Description:Gale Directory Library allows you to search three important reference resources. Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies is updated every other year. The Market share reporter is updated annually. Time Period: Current Sources: Subject Headings: Business (Company Information, Media Outlet Information, and Market Share Information) Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Reference Resources, Report, Statistics or Data Information Included: Full Text MultiLink: Print Equivalent: Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies, Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, Market share reporter Publisher: Gale Group Updates: Yearly Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Contains some market share rankings. General Collection HG4050 .B88
Industry Classification Codes
Find out how a specific NAICS or SIC code is defined or what code is used for what industry. Use the browse feature to see how a code is defined. Use the search feature to see what code is used for an industry.