Subject Guide
Related Subject Guides
Library Links
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
Finding Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete contains full text articles from all fields of business. Either search for articles about a company or find a profile of a company. You can find company profiles by hovering over More, above the search box, and selecting Company Profile.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides access to its Company Dossiers as business news. To access the Company Dossiers, click on Find a Company below the search box. Enter your company in the new search box and click on the red magnifying glass.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowRegional Business News covers local and regional business sources from most parts of the United States and may be helpful for finding news about smaller companies.
Finding Company Background and History
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowFind detailed articles on a company's history using the International Directory of Company Histories. From within the database, select Business in the left column and enter a company's name in the search box. Note that articles from other reference resources will also appear on the results list so, look for the International Directory of Company Histories on the results list.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowUse the Company Profiles to find background information for a company. Once you have entered the database, hover over More, above the search box, and select Company Profile.
Finding Financial Data
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides access to its Company Dossiers, other company profiles as well as to business news. The Company Dossiers contain extensive information about a company's finances. To access them, click on Find a Company below the search box. Enter your company in the search box and click on the red magnifying glass.
- Standard and Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new windowStandard and Poor's NetAdvantage provides stock analysis with some company financial information. Find a stock report by clicking on the Research button and entering a company name or ticker symbol in the "Symbol / Name" box and press the Search button. The stock report will have the company's name in the Headline field on the results list.
- Value Line This link opens in a new windowValue Line includes information on approximately 1,700 stocks. Enter a company ticker symbol or name in the search box in the right corner below the dark blue bar. Some of the company's financial information can be found under Financial Strength Grade Rating. The report also contains industry analysis.
Note: Click on Sign Out, in the upper right corner, before exiting the database. - Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new windowProvides current information on stocks, mutual funds and exchange traded funds. Enter a ticker symbol or company name in the search box and select the company from the resulting suggestions. The company's ESG Risk Rating Assessment appears at the top of the reports, with a little more information in the Sustainability section of the report.
Note: When you are finished researching, please click on the profile icon in the upper right corner and then Sign Out.
- EDGAR Database of Corporate InformationContains the 10-K and other fillings of public companies. Enter a company name or ticker symbol in the Search By box and look for the 10-K report under Selected Filings.
Creating a List of Companies
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowCreate a list of companies using SIC or NAICS. Click on U.S. Businesses and then the Advanced Search tab. Select Keywords/SIC/NAICS under Business Type. Search SIC or NAICS using keywords and select your codes. Use the choices under Geography to select a geographic limit (e.g. ZIP codes), enter the limit and click on the View Results button.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCreate a list of companies with a given NAICS or SIC. To create a list of companies, click on Find a Company below the search box and select Create a Company List in the left column. Select the criteria the companies on your list must meet (e.g. NAICS code, size, etc.). There is also a NAICS code look up to help you limit your list to companies in a specific industry.
Finding Rankings
- Dun's Business RankingsAnnual. Ranks U.S. companies by sales volume and number of employees. Arranged by geographic region and by SIC code.
General Collection HG4057 .A237 - Business Rankings AnnualRanks "top 10" in thousands of business categories. Lists compiled from a variety of published sources.
General Collection HG4050 .B88