LibGuides: Company and Industry Information: Industry Information

Finding Industry Analysis

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains industry reports. Enter the name of an industry in the search box and look for Industry Profiles under Source Types in the left column of a results list.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys cover issues, trends, and outlooks for more than 50 industries. Use the main search box to look up a company in the industry you would like to research. Look for the Industry Survey link under My Links in the left column and click on the headline on the results list. Alternatively, hover over the Markets tab and click on Industry Surveys under Market Research. Note that the results list will be in alphabetical order by industry.
Description: Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage provides stock analysis, company financial information, and industry analysis.
Time Period: Current
Sources: 1
Subject Headings: Business (Company and Industry Information)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Reports
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Standard and Poor
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Value Line This link opens in a new window
In addition to stock reports, Value Line provides industry reports for more than 80 industries. Look up a company in the industry you are researching and the Industry Analysis box on the report.
Description: The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.

Note: Click on Sign Out, in the upper right corner, before exiting the database.

Time Period: Current
Sources: 1
Subject Headings: Business
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Reports
Information Included:
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Value Line
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 3

Finding Ratios

RMA Annual Statement Studies 2013 to 2022
Composite financial data on various lines of business. Allows the comparison of a specific firm's financial data with industry figures to gauge relative performance.
General Collection HF5681 .B2 R6
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios 1988 to 2023
Arranged by SIC code. Gives industry financial data and ratios to facilitate comparison.
General Collection HF5681 .R25 S44

Finding Industry Classification Codes

Find out how a specific NAICS or SIC code is defined or what code is used for what industry. Use the browse feature to see how a code is defined. Use the search feature to see what code is used for an industry.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual Online
Look up the definition of an SIC using a number, find an SIC using keywords, or use SIC Manual link to drill down to a SIC code.
North American Industry Classification System Manual Online
Look up the definition of a NAICS code, find a NAICS code using keywords, or drill down to a NAICS code using the 2022 NAICS link in the Reference Files area.