Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Remember...
Most physical copies of dictionaries, encyclopedia, and style guides will be found in the Reference Collection on first floor West. This means that, while many circulate for 3 days, some must remain in the library and do not circulate.
Of course, there are many online dictionaries and encyclopedia available through the Libraries as well. You can access them from our Databases page. Just click on the "Databases by Subject" link on the left hand side and then select either "General" or "Reference."
Style & Literature Guides
- Author's Handbook of Styles for Life Science JournalsR119 .A85 1996 (Science-Health Science Library)
Provides information needed to compile a manuscript for journal submission. - CSE Style GuideONLINE
- Publication Manual of the APABF76.7 .P83 2010 (Science Library Reference)
Style manual for the American Psychological Association, also used for Biology. - Writing papers in the biological sciencesQH304 .M36 2001 (Science Library)
Provides guidance on writing papers in the Biological sciences.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of LifeONLINE
The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.8 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species. The Encyclopedia of Life will help all of us better understand life on our planet. - Illustrated dictionary of mycologyQK600.35 .U4313 2000
Contains about 4,000 entries including black-and-white drawings or photographs, the etymology of fungi names, extensive cross-referencing, a short bibliography, and an extensive outline of the classification of the taxa they cover down to the genus level. - Oxford Reference OnlineONLINE DATABASE