Biology

The world's largest and most comprehensive directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms on the Internet. Abbreviations.com holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business and it is expanding daily.

Provides species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, and literature references. Photos and range maps are available for many species.

The Avian Specimens collection provides online access to photographs of 52 unique, diverse bird specimens, representing species found in North America, South America, Africa, Asia, Europe, and Australia. Specimens from the collection have been photographed from a variety of angles in order to provide thorough visual documentation of the individual characteristics of each species. Derived from physical collection of museum specimens in the Dept. of Biology.

Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”

Links to molecular biology web sites from around the world.

A descriptive guide to using search engines and databases to their fullest by understanding Boolean operators, wildcards, truncation, etc.

The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.8 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species. The Encyclopedia of Life will help all of us better understand life on our planet.

An Open Research publishing platform for life scientists, offering immediate publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent refereeing and the inclusion of all source data.

Links to U.S. government science websites.

FishBase on the web contains most of all fish species known to science.

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) website about information literacy including definitions, standards and guidelines, bibliographies, and professional activities and organizations.

ITIS will help you find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources.

A list of science-related databases filtered from the comprehensive database list. Includes Biological Abstracts, AGRICOLA, JSTOR, etc. For specific databases, see the "Finding Articles" tab on this LibGuide.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History web page of links to biological resources.

Find out which University Libraries public access computers are in use and what software is on them with this tool.

The Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB) consists of organizations that act as deposition, data processing and distribution centers for PDB data. The founding members are RCSB PDB (USA), PDBe (Europe) and PDBj (Japan)1. The BMRB (USA) group joined the wwPDB in 2006. The mission of the wwPDB is to maintain a single Protein Data Bank Archive of macromolecular structural data that is freely and publicly available to the global community.