LibGuides: Biology: Finding Books, Videos, Etc.

Find Books

When searching for books and materials, the following keywords or search terms might prove useful:

biology, ecology, botany, wildlife, zoology, biometry, biotechnology, entomology, microbiology, bioinformatics

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A small collection of ebooks from EBSCO.
Description: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) provides electronic access to books on a variety of subjects. It includes scholarly and popular works as well as fiction and children's literature.
Time Period: 1900's to Present
Sources: Contains nearly 5,000 books.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Citations
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCOhost
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
A tool for discovering the resources in the University Libraries collections. The simple search box allows researchers to discover credible and reliable library content in one simple search and see results in a relevancy-ranked list. Researchers can access full-text content when available, locate items in the libraries' collections, or request items through interlibrary loan if necessary.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search WorldCat for titles held by libraries all over the U.S. and across the world. Once you find a title, use Interlibrary Loan services to request that it be sent to you at Ball State University.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

WorldCat.org
A free version of the WorldCat database (listed above) that provides basic information about titles and what libraries own them.

Biology videos: DVD & VHS

Most videos (both VHS and DVD) are located in the lower level of Bracken Library in the Education, Music and Media (EMM) unit. However, the Foundational Sciences Library has a small collection of DVDs and VHS tapes behind the counter which is listed below along with selected titles from EMM.

To find out which DVDs or VHS tapes are specifically located in the Science Library, go to OneSearch and do the following:

Type Video in the search field
Click on the "Library Catalog" under Refine Your Search
Click "Video Recording" under Content Type (you might have to click on "More.." first)
Click on Library Location and then "More..."
Choose both Science Library locations (Counter and Video), scroll back up, then click Apply

You can also now save your search by clicking the star on the right side of the search box. You will need to login to Google but once you do you can simply log back in and click the stored link whenever you want to run this same search.

You can also click this link to do the search described above. This is an example of a saved search.