LibGuides: Anthropology: Cultural Anthropology

Find More Books

Use these search terms in OneSearch to find other books about cultural anthropology :

or try searching for the words "ethnology and ______ " In the blank, put in a keyword
Example: ethnology and Middle East
...and try looking at the subfield tabs above for other searches to try

OneSearch
Search this online library catalog to find relevant books, DVDs, CDs, and more available in the Ball State University Libraries collections.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window Search WorldCat for titles held by libraries all over the U.S. and across the world. Once you find a title, use Interlibrary Loan services to request that it be sent to you at Ball State University.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

WorldCat.org
A free version of the WorldCat database (listed above) that provides basic information about titles and what libraries own them.

Cultural Anthropology Reference Books

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
10 vols. Compiles information from more than 1500 cultural groups from around the globe.

Call number: Online
A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology
Provides concise, authoritative definitions for a wide range of concepts found in cultural anthropology.

Call number: Online
American Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Spotlights folk literature, music, legendary figures, and scholarly approaches and theories.

Call number: Online
Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Resources
Call number: Online
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Call number: Online
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Call number: GN307 .E525 2012

Online Resources

Cultural Anthropology Tutorials
Award-winning tutorials developed by the Palomar College Behavioral Sciences Department. Topics include human culture, language and culture, kinship, economic systems, socialization, medical anthropology, and others.

Best Databases

Databases have records in them for articles and other documents. Sometimes you will find the entire document in the database as well.

These databases index articles and documents from anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics journals as well as journals in related disciplines.

Abstracts in Anthropology 2010-2015 This link opens in a new window
2002-present; Includes citations for and summaries of journal articles, books and conference papers in cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Print equivalent: Ref GN1 .A15
Description: Abstracts in Anthropology indexes several hundred periodicals and covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics such as human speech, physiology, artifacts, and history.
Time Period: 2010 to 2015
Sources: Indexes several hundred periodicals.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Abstracts in anthropology
Publisher: Baywood
Updates: Bi-annually
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1960s to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1914 to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,500 academic journals with the full text of more than 180 titles.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
1970s to present; Subscription database of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals from the American Anthropological Association
Description: Full-text content from peer-reviewed journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Results list will include articles from journal titles with restricted access. Journals with full text will have a green dot on the results list.
Time Period: 1970's to present
Sources: Search or browse nearly 60 different publications.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Abstracts in Anthropology
Publisher: American Anthropological Association
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
1957-present; Free database developed by the Royal Anthropological Institute. Citations to scholarly journal articles from all fields of anthropology
Description: Key database in the field of anthropology. Based on the collection of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind). Provided at no cost to users worldwide by the Royal Anthropological Institute.
Please also try AnthroSource.
Time Period: 1957 to present
Sources: Contains nearly 800 journals.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Anthropological Index
Publisher: Royal Anthropological Institute
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Anthropology

Library Services

Find More Books

Cultural Anthropology Reference Books

Online Resources

Best Databases

Look what's new in Academic Search Complete!