LibGuides: Anthropology: Archaeology

Find More Books

Use these search terms in OneSearch to find other books about archaeology :

or try searching for the words "archaeology and ______ " In the blank, put in a place name
Example: archaeology and Indiana
...and try looking at the subfield tabs above for other searches to try

OneSearch
Search this online library catalog to find relevant books, DVDs, CDs, and more available in the Ball State University Libraries collections.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window Search WorldCat for titles held by libraries all over the U.S. and across the world. Once you find a title, use Interlibrary Loan services to request that it be sent to you at Ball State University.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

WorldCat.org
A free version of the WorldCat database (listed above) that provides basic information about titles and what libraries own them.

Archaeology Reference Books

The Oxford Handbook of Papyrology
An introduction to the world of ancient documents and literary texts.
Call number: Online
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
With over 4,000 entries, entries cover vocabulary for archaeological work including principles, theories, techniques, artifacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, descriptive terms, and archaeological legislation in the United Kingdom and the United States.
E-book, see OneSearch record for URL
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Almost 700 entries provide an introduction to trends and concepts in archaeology.
General Collection CC70 .O96 1996
E-book, see OneSearch record for URL

Best Databases

These databases index articles and documents from anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics journals as well as journals in related disciplines.

Abstracts in Anthropology 2010-2015 This link opens in a new window
2002-present; Includes citations for and summaries of journal articles, books, and conference papers in cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. Print equivalent (1970-2009): General Collection GN1 .A15
Description: Abstracts in Anthropology indexes several hundred periodicals and covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics such as human speech, physiology, artifacts, and history.
Time Period: 2010 to 2015
Sources: Indexes several hundred periodicals.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Abstracts in anthropology
Publisher: Baywood
Updates: Bi-annually
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1965-present; Citations and some full-text journal articles covering a wide range of academic disciplines, including all branches of anthropology
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
1970s to present; Subscription database of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals from the American Anthropological Association
Description: Full-text content from peer-reviewed journals and newsletters published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Results list will include articles from journal titles with restricted access. Journals with full text will have a green dot on the results list.
Time Period: 1970's to present
Sources: Search or browse nearly 60 different publications.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: Abstracts in Anthropology
Publisher: American Anthropological Association
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
1957-present; Free database developed by the Royal Anthropological Institute. Citations to scholarly journal articles from all fields of anthropology
Description: Key database in the field of anthropology. Based on the collection of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (Museum of Mankind). Provided at no cost to users worldwide by the Royal Anthropological Institute.
Please also try AnthroSource.
Time Period: 1957 to present
Sources: Contains nearly 800 journals.
Subject Headings: Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Science, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations
Information Included: Abstracts,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: Anthropological Index
Publisher: Royal Anthropological Institute
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. All full-text. Contains complete back-files of scholarly journals in a variety of subjects, including anthropology
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited