LibGuides: Civil Rights : Find Articles

Research Databases

The following databases can be used to find articles related to the topic of Civil Rights. If you want to see the full list of databases available at the University Libraries, click on the Databases link on the University Libraries' website.

Useful search terms to consider when searching the databases:

Brown v. Board of Education
Civil liberties
Civil rights
Civil rights act
Civil rights movements
Discrimination
Protest movements
Racial discrimination
Racial prejudice
Race relations

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
A good database for most research topics; contains lots of peer reviewed full-text articles.
JSTOR
A multidisciplinary database pulling from a myriad of academic fields, including, but not limited to: Philosophy, Education, Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, Humanities, Business, Social Sciences, and more.

Subject-Specific Databases

CQ Researcher
This database focuses on news sources and in-depth reports on social issues, economics, health, popular culture, and more.
Access World News
A news-focused database which includes magazine articles, videos, transcripts, and other sources.
Sociological Abstracts
Contains scholarly resources pertaining to international and U.S. literature on sociology and related disciplines.
America: History and Life
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1960s to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
PAIS International
Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Includes PAIS Archives 1914-1976.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2014 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles that cover world history from the 15th century forward, including military history, women's history, and the history of education.
Chronicling America
This is a digitization project which provides access to historical newspapers and is a collaborative effort of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
This database contains primary resources focusing on Black freedom. Archival material on Civil Rights and Black Power Movements can be found here.