Online Catalogs
- OneSearch is the University Libraries' discovery tool that allows you to search for books, audio/visual materials, newspapers, government documents, and more.
- WorldCat is an online catalog that allows you to look up books, dissertations, microforms, journals, and multimedia items in libraries across the world; this is a good resource to utilize when you have the title of a resource but are unsure which libraries carry it.
- Collection Spotlight is a helpful tool to discover new resources that have been added to the University Libraries' collections. This can be accessed via the Collection Spotlight link on the Libraries' "Do Research" page.
Search Terms
The following search terms can be used to expand the results page in OneSearch:
- Civil rights -- United States
- Freedom of expression -- United States
- Discrimination in employment
- Civil rights movements
- Civil rights -- History
- Discrimination -- United States
- United States -- Race relations
Selected Books
Civil Rights in the Shadow of Slavery by Call Number: KF4749 .R868 2013The 1866 Civil Rights Act is one of the most monumental pieces of legislation in American history, figuring into almost every subsequent piece of legislation dealing with civil rights for the next century. While numerous scholars have looked at it in the larger social and political context of Reconstruction and its relationship with the Fourteenth Amendment, this will be the first book that focuses on its central role in the long history of civil rights.
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment by Call Number: eBookFrom public aid to parochial schools to censorship of library books, Americans are intensely interested in their expressive rights of speech, press, assembly and religion.
The Fifth Freedom: Jobs, Politics, and Civil Rights in the United States, 1941-1972 by Call Number: eBookWhere did affirmative action in employment come from? The conventional wisdom is that it was instituted during the Johnson and Nixon years through the backroom machinations of federal bureaucrats and judges. The Fifth Freedom presents a new perspective, tracing the roots of the policy to partisan conflicts over fair employment practices (FEP) legislation from the 1940s to the 1970s.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights by Call Number: E185.61 .E54 2003The African American struggle for freedom and equality is one of the truly heroic elements of American history. Yet even today, African Americans as a whole still don't fully share in the American dream. This encyclopedia explores the struggle's successes and setbacks, from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century.
Origins of the Bill of Rights by Call Number: eBookA history of the origins of the Bill of Rights. It offers a panoramic view of the liberties secured by the first ten amendments to the Constitution - with an analysis of the background of the Bill of Rights meaning of each provision of the amendments.
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties by Call Number: KF4748 .E53 2006Spanning three volumes, this comprehensive encyclopedia of over six hundred entries covers the full range of civil rights and liberties in America from the antecedents of the Bill of Rights through the most recent controversies over political and social issues, including abortion, free speech, religious liberty, voting rights, and the guarantees of equality. It also addresses the civil rights and liberties issues stemming from America's ongoing war on terrorism.
The Civil Rights Act and the Battle to End Workplace Discrimination by Call Number: eBookOn the fiftieth anniversary of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, Raymond F. Gregory evaluates our progress towards the full implementation of one of the law's key provisions: Title VII, which prohibits discrimination in the workplace.
Lighting the Fires of Freedom: African American Women in the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: eBookDuring the Civil Rights Movement, African American women did not stand on ceremony; they simply did the work that needed to be done. Yet despite their significant contributions at all levels of the movement, they remain mostly invisible to the larger public. Beyond Rosa Parks and Coretta Scott King, most Americans would be hard-pressed to name other leaders at the community, local, and national levels. In Lighting the Fires of Freedom Janet Dewart Bell shines a light on women's all-too-often overlooked achievements in the Movement.
Civil Rights Crossroads by Call Number: eBookSteven F. Lawson has established himself as a leading historian of the black struggle for equality. In these writings he examines the civil rights movement from a variety of perspectives - local and national, political and social - to offer insights into the movement and its influence on society.
Reporting Civil Rights by Call Number: E185.61 .R43 2003This Library of America volume, along with its companion, offers a uniquely panoramic perspective of the fight to bring an end to racial segregation in the United States.
Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: eBookThe fiftieth anniversary of many major milestones in what is commonly called the African-American Civil Rights Movement was celebrated in 2013. Fifty years removed from the Birmingham campaign, the assassination of Medgar Evers, and the March on Washington and it is clear that the sacrifices borne by those generations in that decade were not in vain. Monuments, museums, and exhibitions across the world honor the men and women of the Movement and testify to their immeasurable role in redefining the United States.
Building a Latino Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: F128.9.P85 L44 2014In the first book-length history of Puerto Rican civil rights in New York City, Sonia Lee traces the rise and fall of an uneasy coalition between Puerto Rican and African American activists from the 1950s through the 1970s. Previous work has tended to see blacks and Latinos as either naturally unified as "people of color" or irreconcilably at odds as two competing minorities. Lee demonstrates instead that Puerto Ricans and African Americans in New York City shaped the complex and shifting meanings of "Puerto Rican-ness" and "blackness" through political activism.
At the Dark End of the Street by Call Number: E185.61 .M4777 2011Groundbreaking, controversial, and courageous, here is the story of Rosa Parks and Recy Taylor—a story that reinterprets the history of America’s civil rights movement in terms of the sexual violence committed against black women by white men.
The Huddled Masses Myth by Call Number: KF4819 .J64 2004Despite rhetoric that suggests that the United States opens its doors to virtually anyone who wants to come here, immigration has been restricted since the nation began. In this book, Kevin R. Johnson argues that immigration policy reflects the social hierarchy that prevails in American society as a whole and that immigration reform is intertwined with the struggle for civil rights. The "Huddled Masses" Myth focuses on the exclusion of people of color, gays and lesbians, people with disabilities, the poor, political dissidents, and other disfavored groups, showing how bias shapes the law.
Ripples of Hope by Call Number: eBookRipples of Hope brings together the most influential and important civil rights speeches from the entire range of American history-from the colonial period to the present.
We Shall Overcome: A History of Civil Rights and the Law by Call Number: JC599.U5 T74 2008Despite America’s commitment to civil rights from the earliest days of nationhood, examples of injustices against minorities stain many pages of U.S. history. The battle for racial, ethnic, and gender fairness remains unfinished. This comprehensive book traces the history of legal efforts to achieve civil rights for all Americans, beginning with the years leading up to the Revolution and continuing to our own times.
The Civil Rights Era by Call Number: JC599.U5 G727 1990The civil rights era conjures up a wide range of dramatic images--sit-ins at segregated diners, burning churches, the massive march on Washington, police dogs and firehoses turned on protesters, and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., lying dead from an assassin's bullet. But off the streets another civil rights struggle was also waged, less violent and far less visible but no less momentous, as the vast machinery of the Federal government turned to the task of securing equal rights.
Freedom and the Court: Civil Rights and Liberties in the United States by Call Number: KF4749 .A73 2003Since its original publication in 1967, Freedom and the Court has become the standard text on civil liberties law, with more than 100,000 copies in print. This classic is now updated to cover Supreme Court decisions through 2003 and address essential questions of how to reconcile civil liberties--especially personal privacy--with national security in the aftermath of 9/11.
After Marriage Equality by Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 A38 2016In persuading the Supreme Court that same-sex couples have a constitutional right to marry, the LGBT rights movement has achieved its most important objective of the last few decades. Throughout its history, the marriage equality movement has been criticized by those who believe marriage rights were a conservative cause overshadowing a host of more important issues. Now that nationwide marriage equality is a reality, everyone who cares about LGBT rights must grapple with how best to promote the interests of sexual and gender identity minorities in a society that permits same-sex couples to marry.
These Truths by Call Number: E178 .L57 2018In the most ambitious one-volume American history in decades, award-winning historian Jill Lepore offers a magisterial account of the origins and rise of a divided nation.
The Disability Rights Movement by Call Number: HV1553 .F58 2011Doris Zames Fleischer and Frieda Zames expand their encyclopaedic history of the struggle for disability rights in the United States, to include the past ten years of disability rights activism.
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice by Call Number: eBookThe Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.
The Rights of Others by Call Number: JF799 .B44 2004This book explores the tension between universal principles of human rights and the self-determination claims of sovereign states as they affect the claims of refugees, asylum-seekers and immigrants.
