Other Useful Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Covers education journals geared towards teachers and other education professionals.
Access World News
For searching newspapers articles included in the database Access World News. Browse suggested topics, and click to perform a search.
Interlibrary Loan: Get Books & Articles We Don't Have
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or other materials not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
Having a search strategy gets you off to a good start when you're doing database searching. Try CHOP, DROP, and OR to search efficiently and thoughtfully.
CHOP, DROP, and OR method...illustrated
Start with your topic.
CHOP it up into its individual concepts.
DROP those terms into individual search boxes.
Add synonyms or related words for relevant concepts, using OR.
Look at good records for related words you can add into your search.
After you evaluate your results, and revise your search, you repeat the process...over and over!
Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want
When you'
re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button, sometimes under "Access Options."
Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.
- If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
- If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.
To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button. (Sometimes you must click on "Access Options" to see "Find it @ Ball State.")
If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:
- PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
- Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article
If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.
- Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
- Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
- More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.
