Education, Music and Media Collections, Bracken Library

Searching for Books about Music 

Use OneSearch to search or browse for books about music. If you know the title of the book, enter it in the search box.

To browse for books: 

1. In OneSearch, enter some words that describe your topic and click the search button.
2. In the menu on the left, click on Library Catalog to limit your search to items in the University Libraries.
3. Use the library location facet on the left to limit your search to the music collection, music oversized, music collection reference, and music collection oversized reference locations.
4. To view the newest books, use the facet for publication date to limit your search to the most recent 3-5 years. 
5. Make note of the call number and find it on the shelf in the music books section of Education, Music and Media.

Browse music books

Searching for Music Scores

Use OneSearch to search or browse for scores in the music collection. If you know the title of the score, enter it in the search box.

To browse for scores: 

1. In OneSearch, enter some key words (e.g., composer, genre, instrument, or title) and click the search button.
2. In the menu on the left, click on Library Catalog to limit your search to items in the University Libraries.
3. Use the library location facet on the left to limit your search to the music collection and music collection oversized locations.
4. To view the newest scores, use the facet for publication date to limit your search to the most recent 3-5 years. 
5. Make note of the call number and find it on the shelf in the music section of Education, Music and Media.

Browse music scores

Searching for Compact Discs

Use OneSearch to search or browse for recordings of music on compact disc. If you know the title of the work or CD, enter it in the search box.

To browse for compact discs: 

1. In OneSearch, enter some key words (e.g., song title or composer), and click the search button.
2. In the menu on the left, click on Library Catalog to limit your search to items in the University Libraries.
3. Use the content type facet on the left to limit your search to "Music Recording."
4. To view the newest CDs, use the facet for publication date to limit your search to the most recent 3-5 years. 
5. Make note of the call number and locate the jewel case in the Compact Disc Collection.
6. Bring the case to the EMM Information Desk and ask a staff member to retrieve the disc.

Browse music CDs

Research guides on music topics assist students and faculty with more advanced research. They are developed by the Music Librarian and are available to provide assistance 24/7. Several guides are listed below.

See the full list of music guides

The music notation software Finale is available for student use on several Libraries desktop computers. Use the Software Locator application to identify which computers. For more information about software, see the Music Theory and Composition Research Guide.