Find Scores
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing print books and scores on the shelves. Used in libraries worldwide, this system groups items by topic and assigns each a unique alphanumeric call number. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND violin to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Violin Music:
M40 - 44 Works for solo violin
M217 - 223 Works for violin and piano
M218 Collections
M219 Sonatas
M220 Suites. Variation forms
M221 Pieces
M222 - 223 Arrangements
M312 Piano trios
M349 - 353 String trios
M412 Piano quartets
M452 String quartets
M850 - 854 String octets
M1012 - 1013 Works for violin and orchestra --> concertos
M1012 Scores. Parts
M1013 Piano reductions
M1112 - 1113 Works for violin and string orchestra
MT 260 - 279 Instrumental techniques
MT 262 Systems and methods
MT 265 Studies and exercises --> etudes
MT 266 Orchestral excerpts
*See the Music Performance Research Guide for advice on finding scores in OneSearch.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies each feature works for violin by several composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
The Fritz Kreisler Collection by
Edited by Eric Wen. "There is not a violinist alive in this century who does not have the sound of Kreisler's works in his ear, and indeed, in his heart." Isaac Stern said those powerful words when shown this collection. This outstanding edition includes original compositions and transcriptions by Kreisler, including his cadenzas, and well-known works loved by audiences and violinists alike.
Call Number: M217.K74 F7 V.1-4Publication Date: 1990
Corelli and His Contemporaries: Continuo Sonatas for Violin by
Includes works by Arcangelo Corelli, Johann Christoph Pepusch, Tomaso Albinoni, Johann Christian Schickhardt, François Duval, and Johann Gottlieb Graun
Call Number: M218 .C67 1991Publication Date: 1991
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.