Find Scores
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing print books and scores on the shelves. Used in libraries worldwide, this system groups items by topic and assigns each a unique alphanumeric call number. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND trombone to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Trombone Music:
M90 - 94 Works for solo trombone
M92 Original compositions. Separate works
M93 - 94 Arrangements
M262 - 263 Works for trombone and piano
M262 Collections
M263 Separate works --> sonatas
M357.4 Brass trios
M457.4 Brass quartets
M557.4 Brass quintets
M1032 - 1033 Works for trombone and orchestra --> concertos
M1032 Scores. Parts
M1033 Piano reductions
M1132 - 1133 Works for trombone and string orchestra
M1205 - 1206 Solo instrument(s) with band
MT 460 - 472 Instrumental techniques
MT 462 Systems and methods
MT 465 Studies and exercises --> etudes
MT 466 Orchestral excerpts
*See the Music Performance Research Guide for advice on finding scores in OneSearch.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies each feature works for trombone by several composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
Concert and Contest Collection for Trombone by
This top-rated collection of solo literature from the celebrated Rubank catalog is known by teachers and students everywhere. Each edition offers a superb variety of solos customized for that instrument. Most state solo/ensemble contest lists include several solos from this collection. Includes selections by Fauré, Handel, Koepke, Mozart, Pryor, Rimsky-Korsakov, Tchaikovsky, and others.
Call Number: M93 .C66 1965Publication Date: 1965
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.