LibGuides: Theatre Resources: Watch Video

Watch Video

Online Streaming Resources

University Libraries subscribes to several streaming platforms which include videos of theatre and dance productions and other resources. These platforms often feature niche content which is more current and better organized than familiar commercial platforms like YouTube and Netflix.

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Description: Dance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Time Period:
Sources:
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Alexander Street Press
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window Digital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
Description: Digital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Provides access to 774 productions, 1126 video resources, 661 written resources, and 298 teaching resources.
Subject Headings: Theater, Arts, and Dance, General
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Video, Audio, Text
Information Included: NA
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Digital Theatre+
Updates: Varies by content
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.   Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Description: Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.

Note: Creating a profile allows you to access your Dashboard, where you can create and share a watch list. Here's how you do it, see Creating a Kanopy account near the bottom of the page. Also, Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Time Period:
Sources: Select from more than 30,000 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Videos
Information Included: Streaming Video
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Kanopy
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Finding DVDs in OneSearch

OneSearch is the Ball State Libraries' search tool for materials in the library and beyond.

Start with a basic search using keywords, for example Bellini's opera, Norma:

Screen snip of the OneSearch search box from the Libraries main webpage. Text reads: "OneSearch. Find articles, books, Music, DVDs, and more" The words Bellini Norma have been typed into the search box. Beneath the text box for searching is a link for Advanced Search.

From preliminary results, click on "More..." Under CONTENT TYPE, click on Video Recording. Next, scroll up to click "Apply"

Screen snip from the OneSearch results page showing Content types transcript, video recording, and web resource with numbers in parentheses and a checkmark and X next to each. The checkmark next to Video Recording is in boldface..

Click on "Locations" to find the call numbers (they begin with "DVD Video.") Take the number to the Education, Music and Media counter on the Lower Level. Note: the main "author" of a DVD is the director, not the composer or performer.

Playback Options for DVDs

All public computers in the University Libraries have CD/DVD players. In addition, you can use the viewing/listening booths to the north of the books about music, and you can checkout laptops from the Education, Music and Media information desk.

Headphones can also be checked out at the information desk.