LibGuides: THEA 106: Styles and Concepts (Reed): Finding Images

Finding Images in Libraries Databases

We'll explore these three online databases in your class. Other Libraries databases which you can use to find images are listed at A-Z Databases. Just select the filter type "Images," and you should see about 30 results.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides images of art from more than 300 collections in museums around the world. It also allows you to search for journal articles and books. Records for images may also include links to relevant articles. Images in Artstor’s collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
Description: Artstor provides images of art from more than 300 collections in museums around the world. It also allows you to search for journal articles and books. Records for images may also include links to relevant articles. Images in Artstor’s collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Contains more than 3 million items.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Images, Journal Articles,
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: NA
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window
The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Description: The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Time Period: 1800's to present
Sources: Contains records more than 175,000 items_
Subject Headings: General, History, Humanities, News, Social Sciences (Images)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Archival Material, Audio, Books/e-books, Images, Maps, Models, News, Other, Videos
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Ball State University Libraries
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
LUNA Commons This link opens in a new window
LUNA Commons contain collections of images of items, such as documents, artifacts, photographs, drawings, maps, and buildings from all periods of time. Each image is accompanied by information about the item.
Description: LUNA Commons contain collections of images of items, such as documents, artifacts, photographs, drawings, maps, and buildings from all periods of time. Each image is accompanied by information about the item.
Time Period: All periods
Sources: Searches across more than 100,000 images from 35 collections.
Subject Headings: General, History, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials:
Information Included: Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: LUNA Imaging
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Finding Images in OneSearch

You can also use OneSearch to find images and books of images within the Libraries' collections. Be sure to use the filters on the left pane or through Advanced Search to refine your results.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Select the filter "Image," for example, if you only want to see single images. You'll want to select "Book/eBook," if you're looking for books of images. Additionally, selecting the filter "Library Catalog" will remove web results, if you only want to see items in the Libraries' physical and digital collections.

Finding Images Online and Copyright

You can also find images online, although there might be copyright considerations which limit their usage. See the guide Finding and Using Public Domain and Openly Licensed Media for a list of websites with images in the public domain or shared under Creative Commons. Images from these websites should be safe for your use!