Predatory Journals: An Overview
Predatory publishing refers to the practice of exploitative, deceptive journals that charge authors hefty publication fees without providing legitimate editorial and publishing services. These journals often promise quick publication but do not adhere to rigorous peer review, editorial oversight, or academic standards. They prey on authors, especially those unfamiliar with the publishing process or the specific field, by using misleading tactics such as:
- Fake impact factors or exaggerated metrics to appear reputable
- Aggressive solicitation through emails or online ads to convince researchers to submit their work
- Nonexistent or poor-quality peer review processes
While there are legitimate open-access journals, predatory publishers often misuse the open-access model, providing little or no value to the scientific community.
Avoid Citing Articles from Predatory Journals by using Library Databases
The most efficient way to avoid citing articles published in predatory journals is to use library databases for identifying articles, instead of using articles found on the open web (via Google).
Why Library Databases Are Effective:
-
Curated and Trusted Sources: Library databases like APA PsycInfo, ERIC, JSTOR, PubMed, and Web of Science typically index only reputable journals that meet rigorous standards for peer review and scholarly integrity. These databases vet the journals they include, so articles published within them are much more likely to be from legitimate publishers.
-
Quality Control: Library databases prioritize peer-reviewed and high-quality journals. Predatory journals, which often bypass real peer review, are generally not indexed by these databases. This provides an additional safeguard against encountering articles from predatory publishers.
-
Access to Comprehensive Citations: These databases provide citation information and impact metrics that help you assess the quality of the journal and the article. Reputable journals often have a strong citation record and are included in citation indices, whereas predatory journals typically lack these indicators of scholarly recognition.
-
Search Filters: Many library databases allow you to filter for peer-reviewed articles, which can further ensure that the articles you find are from legitimate sources.
However, a Word of Caution:
While library databases are an excellent resource, no system is entirely foolproof. In some cases, newer or niche predatory journals might sneak into the databases, so it's still essential to assess the journal's reputation if you’re uncertain. You can use additional checks to ensure the quality of the journal.
The Synopsis of Positive and Negative Evaluation Indicators on the Evaluating Journals for Quality and Legitimacy guide has a useful list to consult.