SPAA students - I'm your library liaison. If you have questions, just ask!
Office: Bracken Library BL 102
Email: setaylor@bsu.edu
What about when you need help?
If you have a quick, tech-related question that needs a fast response, go to our Ask a Librarian page. Choosing either the Chat or Talk option will get you help quickly.
If you have a more complicated question, please email Susan Taylor at setaylor@bsu.edu. She's the liaison to the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology, and she will get back to you as soon as she can!
LibKey Nomad: For Full-Text
Install LibKey Nomad on your laptop to make it easier to find out if we have access to a full article while you're browsing the web.
This guide has more information, and steps to install it: LibKey Nomad guide.
For more SPAA-related databases...
- Speech Pathology & Audiology Research GuideConsult this broader research guide to learn about health-related databases which are helpful when researching topics related to speech pathology and audiology.
About this guide
This guide brings together the library resources which will be helpful for doing research for your assignments in SPAA 371.
ASHAwire
- ASHA WireAllows searching through all the publications of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.
Some titles provided for free. Otherwise, check OneSearch to see if we have the full-text of the article.
Use the search box at the top of the screen to enter in your topic.
To limit the results to articles which are more likely to be experimental, look on the left and choose the "Research Article" limiter under "Article Type."
Many articles will have a red lock indicating you cannot read them. There are two ways to check if you can get to the full-text:
- Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension (see box on this page) to help link you to articles the BSU libraries have access to.
- OR, Copy and paste the article title into OneSearch on the Ball State Libraries' homepage to see if we have access to the title.
TIP: You may want to focus on articles in the ASHA journal called Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools as Dr. Wagner reports that the articles in there tend to be more readable.
Useful library databases
These library databases are also helpful as you do more research on your topics.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
In PsycInfo, make sure you choose the "Academic Journals" limiter on the left-hand side, under Source Types to focus on scholarly articles. - ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
In ERIC, make sure you choose the "Academic Journals" limiter on the left-hand side, under Source Types to focus on scholarly articles.
Identifying experimental articles
To make sure an article is reporting on an experiment, look for these headings within the article:
- Introduction
- Methods
- Results
- Discussion or Conclusion
Find the full article
When you're ready to read the full article, look for the HTML or PDF full-text icons.
If the article you want doesn't have a full-text link, it should have a red Find It @ BALL STATE button (or a "Find a copy" link in Nursing & Allied Health). Click there to determine if we have full-text access through some other means.
Read on for more information about Find It @ BALL STATE and how it can help you get your full article, even if you have to request a copy from another library through InterLibrary Loan .
Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want
When you'
re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.
Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.
- If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
- If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.
To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.
If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:
- PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
- Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article
If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.
- Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
- Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
- More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.
