LibGuides: Probability & Statistics: Databases & Other Online Tools

Recommended Research Tools

arXiv.org
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
DOAJ: Mathemtaical Statistics journals
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be THE one stop shop for users of open access journals.
DOAJ: Social Science Statistics journals

Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window
A very large multidisciplinary database that concentrates on science and medicine journals, with fewer journals in the social sciences and humanities. Ingenta works closely with many journal publishers, offering users a chance to purchase full-text articles including over 300 statistics journal titles.
Description: A very large multidisciplinary database that concentrates on science and medicine journals, with fewer journals in the social sciences and humanities. Ingenta works closely with many journal publishers, offering users a chance to purchase full-text articles.
Time Period: 1988-present
Sources: over 29,000 journals
Subject Headings: General, Health, Science
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal articles
Information Included: Abstracts and some full text
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Ingenta
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Functions as an electronic archive of older journals. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. It often does not contain the most recent years of a journal. Contains many journal titles covering statistics.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
An electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Description: MathSciNet is a key database for the literature of mathematics. It contains reviews of current mathematical literature and indexes literature back to the early 1800's. More than 100,000 reviews are added each year.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes articles from more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Science, Technology (Mathematics)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Mathematical Society
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Formulas

Other Tools & Resources

CalculatorSoup.com
Sets of online calculators for various math and statistics needs.

ETS Test Collection This link opens in a new window
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.
Description: ETS Test Collection is a database providing information about educational and psychological testing instruments. Although it does not contain the full text of tests, brief summaries, bibliographic information, and information about the where tests can be obtained is included. According to the ETS website this is the largest collection of its type.
Time Period: 1900's to present
Sources: Includes information about more than 25,000 tests.
Subject Headings: Education, Psychology, Social Sciences (Testing and Measurement)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials:
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Educational Testing Service
Updates: Yearly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Khan Academy: Probability & Statistics
A collection of video tutorials on probability and statistics from Khan Academy.
Math Forum: Probability & Statistics from Drexel University
Collection of articles, problems, calculators, and other information and resources from Drexel University Library.
SlideShare: Introduction to Psychological Statistics
A slideshow presentation that covers the basics of using statistics in psychology.
Stat-Help.com
A free statistics help website with Excel spreadsheet calculators, SPSS notes, and other information.