Find Scores
Scores are often the primary texts when studying music. Especially in classical music, but also to an extent in other genres, we rely on scores to best convey a composer's intentions. On this page, search for scores by notable composers and see recommended scores and anthologies. Visit the Music Performance Research Guide for advice finding scores in OneSearch and comparing editions.
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing print books and scores on the shelves. Used in libraries worldwide, this system groups items by topic and assigns each a unique alphanumeric call number. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND piano to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Piano Music:
M20 - 39 Works for solo piano
M20 Miscellaneous collections
M21 - 32 Original compositions
M21 - 22 Collections
M23 Sonatas
M24 Suites
M25 Pieces
M26 Piano, one hand
M27 Variation forms
M28 Marches
M30 - 32 Dances
M33 - 39 Arrangements
M177 - 990 Two or more solo instruments
M200 - 212 Piano, four hands
M214 - 215 Two pianos, two performers
M217 - 285 Piano and one other instrument
M310 - 344 Piano and two other instruments --> piano trios
M410 - 449 Piano and three other instruments --> piano quartets
M510 - 549 Piano and four other instruments --> piano quintets
M1010 - 1011 Concertos for piano and multiple pianos
M1621 One solo voice and piano --> songs, song cycles
MT 225 - 240 Studies and exercises, including etudes
MT 950 Music to accompany instruction in ballet, folk dancing, gymnastics, etc.
Complete Editions of Piano Music
The Music Collection includes complete editions by these prominent composers of keyboard music. Complete editions strive to present scholarly editions of the complete works of a single composer and are classified in M3. As scholarly or critical editions, they are, according to Oxford Music Online, "prepared on the basis of a critical evaluation of all known primary sources [and] designed to present the most authoritative, authentic version of its contents." Feel free to ask the Music Librarian, if you need assistance as these multi-volume sets can often be difficult to navigate.
-
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750) Two editions: the 1851 published by Breitkopf & Härtel (reprinted in 1947 by J.W. Edwards) and the 1954 or "Neue Ausgabe" ("New Edition") published by Bärenreiter-Verlag
-
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827) Two editions: the "Alte Gesamtausgabe" ("Old Complete Edition") published by Breitkopf & Härtel from 1862 to 1865 and the "Neue Gesamtausgabe" ("New Complete Edition") published by Henle Verlag beginning in 1961
-
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897) Two editions: the "Sämtliche Werke" begun in 1926 and the "Neue Ausgabe Sämtlicher Werke" begun in 1996
-
Chopin, Frédéric (1810-1849) Two editions: the Paderewski begun in 1949 and the Chopin National Edition begun in 2010
-
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886) Two editions: the "Musikalische Werke" reissued in 1966, and the "Neue Liszt-Ausgabe" ("New Liszt Edition") issued by Bärenreiter beginning in 1970
-
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791) Two editions: the "Werke," reissued from 1951 to 1956, and the "Neue Ausgabe Sämtlicher Werke" published by Bärenreiter beginning in 1955
-
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828) Two editions: the "Complete Works" reissued by Dover beginning in 1965, and the "Neue Ausgabe Sämtlicher Werke" ("New Edition") issued by Bärenreiter beginning in 1964.
-
Schumann, Robert (1810-1856) Two editions: the "Werke" reissued by Gregg Press from 1967 to 1968, and the "Neue Ausgabe Sämtlicher Werke" ("New Edition") published by Schott beginning in 1991
Also see the page Complete Editions (M3) at the Music History Research Guide for a full list of complete editions by approximately 160 composers housed in the Music Collection.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies compile piano music by multiple composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
-
Three Centuries of American Music: American Keyboard Music Through 1865
by
Includes works by George Frederick Bristow, Benjamin Carr, William Henry Fry, Anthony Philip Heinrich, Alexander Reinagle, Charles Thibault, and others
Call Number: M2.3.U6 T57 V.3Publication Date: 1990 -
Piano Music of Africa and the African Diaspora, Volumes 1 to 5
by
This series of five volumes edited by William H. Chapman Nyaho and published by Oxford University Press includes piano music by many of the most significant African and African American composers. Volumes are organized by increasing difficulty and contain performance notes and composer biographies for each piece.
Call Number: M21 .P5341 2007 to M21 .P5345 2008Publication Date: 2007
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.