Librarian Profile
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
OneSearch
OneSearch is a tool for discovering the resources in the University Libraries collections. The simple search box allows researchers to discover credible and reliable library content in one simple search and see results in a relevancy-ranked list. Researchers can access full-text content when available, locate items in the libraries' collections, or request items through interlibrary loan if necessary.
For more information on this new discovery tool, take a look at the OneSearch subject guide.
As always, though, using only one source for all your information- even a meta-search tool such as this- can leave your knowledge of research topics lacking. Again, there is no quick and easy road to accurate and authoritative research. Real work is involved. Search results will overlap between sources but they will NOT be the same.
Databases
For online databases and index services go to the University Libraries home page, click on the Databases link, then use the pull down menu near the top of the page to select the Science option. This will bring up a list science-related databases allowing a more concise search of the literature.
Tip: If you already have an article in mind and want to find a fulltext version of it, do a search for the journal title in OneSearch. If the Libraries subscribes to the journal electronically, links to the online journal will be provided in the record.
- arXiv.orgarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
- Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new windowA very large multidisciplinary database that concentrates on science and medicine journals, with fewer journals in the social sciences and humanities. Ingenta works closely with many journal publishers, offering users a chance to purchase full-text articles.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is a key database for the literature of mathematics. It contains reviews of current mathematical literature and indexes literature back to the early 1800's. More than 100,000 reviews are added each year.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. (fulltext)
- SciFindern This link opens in a new windowOnline Chemical Abstracts and fulltext articles database. Includes chemical structure drawing component. Accessible only in the SHSL.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCross searching of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index back to 1987.