Find Scores
How Scores are Organized
The Music Collection uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing print books and scores on the shelves. Used in libraries worldwide, this system groups items by topic and assigns each a unique alphanumeric call number. Hint: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section. Include AND organ to further narrow results.
Call Numbers for Organ Music:
M6 Miscellaneous collections
M7 - 11 Original compositions
M7 General collections
M8 Sonatas
M8.5 Symphonies
M9 Suites. Variation forms
M10 Fugues
M11 Pieces
M12 - 13 Arrangements
M12 Collections
M13 Separate works
M14 Service music, including music for specific seasons and occasions
M180 - 181 Duets for one or more organs
M182 - 186 Duets for organ and one other instrument
M1005 Works for organ and orchestra --> concertos
M1108 Works for organ and string orchestra
*See the Music Performance Research Guide for advice on finding scores in OneSearch.
Score Anthologies
These anthologies each feature works for organ by several composers and can be found in the Music Collection. Follow the links below to search their tables of contents online before finding them on library shelves.
The Oxford Book of Wedding Music: Thirty Pieces for Organ by
This album contains thirty useful, practical, popular, and immediately appealing pieces of a clearly defined character.
Call Number: M6 .O9 1991Publication Date: 1991
The Oxford Book of Organ Music by Women Composers by
The Oxford Book of Organ Music by Women Composers presents a comprehensive survey of historical organ pieces by women composers alongside six newly commissioned works. The music is stylistically varied and encompasses secular and sacred repertoire from a range of periods. In addition to original organ repertoire, the collection also contains several organ transcriptions in new arrangements for the instrument.
Call Number: M6 .O88 2023Publication Date: 2023
The AGO 90th-Anniversary Anthology of American Organ Music by
This collection features outstanding works for organ--many previously unpublished--by 22 American composers. Selected by the New Music Committee of the American Guild of Organists to be representative of the diversity of American composition for the organ, this anthology is a remarkable gathering of styles, talents, and skills. It has been compiled with the cooperation of many publishers and is made possible in part by subvention of production costs by the Twin Cities Chapter of the AGO, Carsten Slostad, Dean.
Call Number: M7 .A29 1988Publication Date: 1988
King of Kings: Organ Music of Black Composers, Past and Present, Volumes 1 & 2 by
An important contribution to the repertoire for both the church organist and the recitalist! In this unique compilation you’ll find organ works by composers from the late 19th century to the present day. A number of beloved and familiar spirituals are masterfully arranged. Titles like “King of Kings” by Ralph Simpson, “Were You There” by Uzee Brown, “A Little More Faith in Jesus” by John W. Work, and “Go Down, Moses” by W. C. Handy can add the perfect touch to a worship service or provide a welcome touchstone for a comprehensive recital program. Original works include “Retrospection” by Florence B. Price and “Arietta” by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor.
Call Number: M7 .K56 2008 V.1-2Publication Date: 2008
Sunday Morning Organist, Volumes 1 to 5 by
Description for Vol. 1: Solos for Christmas: Christmas is an extremely busy time for church organists. To simplify performance preparation during this hectic season, Alfred has compiled a substantial 128-page collection of carol arrangements and medleys in styles ranging from meditations to fantasies. Featuring most-requested pieces arranged by the legendary Virgil Fox, as well as other professional organists including Robert J. Powell and Franklin Ashdown, this convenient Sunday Morning Organ Companion: Solos for Christmas contains a rich source of materials from the Belwin-Mills, H. W. Gray, and Alfred organ catalogs.
Call Number: M14 .S861 2009 to M14 .S865 2009Publication Date: 2009
Interlibrary Loan
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.